#1  
Old January 20th, 2007, 08:38 AM
BeatJunkie BeatJunkie is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany / Sachsen-Anhalt
Posts: 56
BeatJunkie is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

Hello everybody.

Yesterday I've written a HowTo on setting a WGT624 up as client or even as repeater/bridge.
Since I'd trouble to find such information around the net I thought it would be a good idea to provide that HowTo to the Netgear Forum (where ppl usually search for somehting like that ).
It is written in German but if enough people would like to have it in English I would translate it and post it here.

Here is the link: http://www.vallstedt-networks.de/For...forum.php?f=13

have fun.
BeatJunkie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 20th, 2007, 09:38 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,457
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

The standard WGT624 does not support any of the modes that you refer to. I donít read German, but it looks to me like you suggest installing a non-Netgear version of firmware, which would invalidate the warranty and would have no support from Netgear.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 20th, 2007, 03:45 PM
BeatJunkie BeatJunkie is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany / Sachsen-Anhalt
Posts: 56
BeatJunkie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

No. The WGT624 DOES support these modes.
The only problem is, that they are not supported by the built-in web UI.
The chipset which is used IN the WGT (Atheros) does support these modes, so the WGT itself supports them too.

The firmware isn't changed in any way.

I use a tool named "telnetEnable.exe" which is provided by Netgear itself in a official firmware update package to enable telnet functionallity for the WGT.
Then I use commands, provided by the built-in OS to enable client/bridge/repeater mode and stuff.

that's it.
No firmware modification or violations of warranty at all.

Hope that helps
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 28th, 2007, 08:12 PM
xen xen is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
xen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

Hi,

I've looked everywhere for telnetenable.exe. Seems even the link on your 'how to' is no longer active. I have found the C source, but will have trouble if I have to compile it myself. Any ideas where I can get it? Would it possible for someone who has it to email it to me please?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 29th, 2007, 04:42 AM
BeatJunkie BeatJunkie is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany / Sachsen-Anhalt
Posts: 56
BeatJunkie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

I uploaded the file to some filesharing service: http://files.to/get/349970/64662/telnetEnable.rar
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 29th, 2007, 08:36 PM
xen xen is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
xen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

Ah, you're a legend my friend. Thanks so much for the file, I appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 12th, 2007, 04:06 PM
BeatJunkie BeatJunkie is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany / Sachsen-Anhalt
Posts: 56
BeatJunkie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

Because I got some requests, I decided to translate it and put a English version of the HowTo online.
Here is the link: http://www.beatjunkie.de/Router_eng.htm

BeatJunkie
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 19th, 2007, 06:27 AM
AtLarge AtLarge is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
AtLarge is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

Looks like a good write up Beatjunkie! Any chance this process will work with a WGR614v6?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 19th, 2007, 06:48 AM
BeatJunkie BeatJunkie is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany / Sachsen-Anhalt
Posts: 56
BeatJunkie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

@AtLarge:
It definately should work also with a WGR614 since v5.
Afaik it has also running the telnet daemon.

It is even assumed to work with WPN824v1 and WG602.

Just try it out.

BeatJunkie
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 22nd, 2007, 07:22 PM
xen xen is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
xen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

Hi,

What's the best way to undo the changes? Will a simple reset suffice or do I have to telnet in and make changes?

Thanks in advance for any info,

Gavin.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:36 AM.