#1  
Old September 1st, 2008, 03:55 AM
finsfan finsfan is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
finsfan is on a distinguished road
Default How can I tell if the Router is fried?

I have a WGR614 v6 router. Yesterday, for some reason, I had slow connection speeds. I looked at the router, and all lights were on but the check mark and the wireless icon. Even 1, 2, 3 and 4 were on and I dont run LANS. Turned it off, then on, and number 3 was amber. I took the ethernet cable and went straight to computer and fine, and unhooked that even and the wireless card picked up neighbors signal and gave sporadic access at 1mbs. Left the router unhooked and unplugged overnight and same thing. Even though I was on a surge protector, does that mean this router is fried?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 1st, 2008, 04:22 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,473
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How can I tell if the Router is fried?

It sounds that way, but before you replace it, check the AC adapter, it may have failed and also try resetting it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 1st, 2008, 04:39 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,551
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How can I tell if the Router is fried?

You could also try factory resetting the router, see posts by June Mizoguchi e.g. this one;

http://forum1.netgear.com/member.php...poster&t=26850

And follow the Router Rest link in his signature.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 1st, 2008, 05:39 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How can I tell if the Router is fried?

I'm here

sounds like stuck on diagnostic boot.. usually symptoms of bad unit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 1st, 2008, 07:26 AM
GLaDOS's Avatar
GLaDOS GLaDOS is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aperture Science Enrichment Center
Posts: 1,428
GLaDOS is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How can I tell if the Router is fried?

I would concur that it's a dead unit. Even though it may be acting fine, it's going to be more problems than it's worth down the road. Doing a factory reset may just put the problems off for now, but I recommend looking for a new one, and be prepared to replace it.

Think of it like your car, you notice it starting to act sluggish, and stuttering at stop lights. You take it in just to get an oil change (factory reset), but you're just putting off the inevitable because the sluggishness may have gone away for now, and the stuttering seems bearable, but the problem is in the engine and unless you get the engine fixed it's going to die, and die when you need it the most. Unlike cars, routers are cheap (comparatively), so best to replace than to try and fix.
__________________
-GLaDOS
"The Enrichment Center is committed to the well being of all participants. Cake and grief counseling will be available at the conclusion of the test. Thank you for helping us help you help us all."
"All right, keep doing whatever it is you think you're doing. Killing you and giving you good advice aren't mutually exclusive. The rocket really is the way to go."

"Stop squirming and die like an adult, or I'm going to delete your backup. STOP! Okay, enough, I deleted it. No matter what happens now, you're dead. You're still shuffling around a little, but believe me, you're dead. The part of you that could have survived indefinitely is gone. I just struck you from the permanent record."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 1st, 2008, 10:28 AM
finsfan finsfan is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
finsfan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How can I tell if the Router is fried?

I went to Best Buy and got a Super G Rangemax (Mimo is what he called it).

I have a regular WG511v2 adapter. IT works fine. DO I need to get a new adapter or can I use the old one? Will I get the advantage of faster speeds? Or, since there is just two computers (one downstairs, one upstairs) on Comcast cable, do I go back with the regular router I had?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 1st, 2008, 11:10 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How can I tell if the Router is fried?

always smart to post the model

Miles has better enhancement on signal reception

It will stii work with non rangemax adapter ;54mbps and 108mbps adapter but in order to have best signal. Rangemax wireless adapter is the best match
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 1st, 2008, 11:39 AM
finsfan finsfan is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
finsfan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How can I tell if the Router is fried?

Thank you. I will probably upgrade when I get a problem with the adapter card. However, I can not tell if Comcast Hi speed cable even goes up to 108? If it does, then I will probably go get a rangemaster adapter card, unless you think I need to just go whole hog and go up to the N network? I dont play online games, rarely download more than 5 pics to send out, and don't download songs or videos. Dialup would take like a minute to log on, and bringing up some webpages took about as long. Now with hispeed cable internet, it takes like 20 seconds to get internet explorer and sometimes it can take 20 to 30 seconds to check mail on Aol.

Thanks for all the help
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 1st, 2008, 12:23 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How can I tell if the Router is fried?

You got realize Comcast service is 8Mbps or16Mps so you do not need to worried about it
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:33 AM.