Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 2nd, 2008, 12:10 PM
hatemyrouter hatemyrouter is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
hatemyrouter is on a distinguished road
Default Can't access NETGEAR WGR614v9

Hi guys,

I've tried to reset it, held for 15, 20, 30 seconds.. minutes! It doesn't seem to (as far as I can tell) reset a *** thing. I've tried numerous default username and password combinations (admin/password etc) and it still won't allow me to logon to the router.

I tried connecting via ethernet cable to my laptop and still it wouldn't allow me to access it. Has anyone had similar problems with this router or know of any solutions because I'm ready to explode..

On a side note, the reason I wanted to access it was to change something as when I was trying to setup xbox live I couldn't find the wireless network even after selecting it and inputing the password. Obviously the internet is fine since I'm able to use it on my laptop, so clearly it can be found and the password I'm entering is correct, but apparently that isn't good enough for xbox live. I didn't find a definite solution so if anyone has any idea how to sort this router from preventing me connecting to xbox live it would also be appreciated!

Thanks for any help and/or suggestions!

Ben

Last edited by GLaDOS; September 2nd, 2008 at 12:27 PM. Reason: Removed Foul Language
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 2nd, 2008, 07:22 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 93,994
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access NETGEAR WGR614v9

who is ISP and what user/pass used
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 3rd, 2008, 02:09 AM
hatemyrouter hatemyrouter is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
hatemyrouter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access NETGEAR WGR614v9

ISP is virgin media. I have a username but don't really use it to logon, its davidjones@ntlworld.com. The password is password.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 3rd, 2008, 02:22 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,398
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access NETGEAR WGR614v9

Just to be clear is it a Virgin supplied router, is it a refurbished unit, or did you buy it new yourself?
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 3rd, 2008, 05:13 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 93,994
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access NETGEAR WGR614v9

Quote:
Originally Posted by hatemyrouter View Post
ISP is virgin media. I have a username but don't really use it to logon, its davidjones@ntlworld.com. The password is password.
virgin is user
and password is password
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 4th, 2008, 02:17 PM
hatemyrouter hatemyrouter is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
hatemyrouter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access NETGEAR WGR614v9

Hey,

Sorry but that didn't work. Any other suggestions? Thanks for the help.

Its a new NETGEAR router, they supplied it themselves just recently.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 4th, 2008, 02:24 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,398
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access NETGEAR WGR614v9

Who are ‘they’? If you mean Virgin, then it could have Virgin modified firmware in it in which case the login details may be different to the Netgear defaults.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 4th, 2008, 03:41 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 93,994
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access NETGEAR WGR614v9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars Mug View Post
Who are ‘they’? If you mean Virgin, then it could have Virgin modified firmware in it in which case the login details may be different to the Netgear defaults.
someone did post that virgin was the username for virgin provided unit

but I guess not
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 4th, 2008, 10:45 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,398
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access NETGEAR WGR614v9

Hatemyrouter has not clearly stated that Virgin supplied the router, his last post implied this but was still not clear in my opinion. I am also with Virgin and have only been supplied with a modem, but there are other options, and maybe that’s what Hatemyrouter has. If it is a Virgin router then I agree, all I have found suggests a username of ‘virgin’ and a password of ‘password’ but an un-modified Netgear router has the username of ‘admin’ and a password of ‘password’.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 5th, 2008, 04:48 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 93,994
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't access NETGEAR WGR614v9

such a confusing as looks like UK has different set up as US

SKY, Virgin has modified firm and username/pass
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:13 PM.