Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Homeline Wiring Products > Powerline Networking Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 6th, 2008, 01:41 PM
algypalgy algypalgy is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
algypalgy is on a distinguished road
Default Login to Router Website???

Before I start please forgive me if I'm in the wrong place, but I can't work out exactly where I should be.

Anyway I have a problem: Everytime I try to login to my Router setup site on the internet, I press the LOGIN Button (I have my login Username and Password Saved), but it just keeps on telling me I have not used the correct Username or Password. I have also tried the different combinations, and the default login, all to no avail. Have also logged in many times before without any problems!!!!

Now I need to login and change some of my settings, but can't???? Can anyone help????

I have read the manual from cover to cover, but still can't work out how to login. The nearest I can think of, is to reset my Router, using the reset button, but then I would have to start all over again. So, forgive me, but I would be most grateful for any helpful suggestions.

Kind regards, Algypalgy.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 6th, 2008, 01:44 PM
GLaDOS's Avatar
GLaDOS GLaDOS is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aperture Science Enrichment Center
Posts: 1,428
GLaDOS is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Login to Router Website???

the default username and password is on the bottom of the unit.
__________________
-GLaDOS
"The Enrichment Center is committed to the well being of all participants. Cake and grief counseling will be available at the conclusion of the test. Thank you for helping us help you help us all."
"All right, keep doing whatever it is you think you're doing. Killing you and giving you good advice aren't mutually exclusive. The rocket really is the way to go."

"Stop squirming and die like an adult, or I'm going to delete your backup. STOP! Okay, enough, I deleted it. No matter what happens now, you're dead. You're still shuffling around a little, but believe me, you're dead. The part of you that could have survived indefinitely is gone. I just struck you from the permanent record."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 6th, 2008, 02:05 PM
algypalgy algypalgy is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
algypalgy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Login to Router Website???

Many thanks, GLaDOS, but like I said I already tried that and it did not work, the LOGIN BOX just restarts and ask for either the correct USERNAME or PASSWORD.

But thanks for the speedy reply.

Kind regards, Algypalgy.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 6th, 2008, 02:25 PM
GLaDOS's Avatar
GLaDOS GLaDOS is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aperture Science Enrichment Center
Posts: 1,428
GLaDOS is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Login to Router Website???

Then you will need to perform a factory reset on the unit, there is no other way to retrieve this password.
__________________
-GLaDOS
"The Enrichment Center is committed to the well being of all participants. Cake and grief counseling will be available at the conclusion of the test. Thank you for helping us help you help us all."
"All right, keep doing whatever it is you think you're doing. Killing you and giving you good advice aren't mutually exclusive. The rocket really is the way to go."

"Stop squirming and die like an adult, or I'm going to delete your backup. STOP! Okay, enough, I deleted it. No matter what happens now, you're dead. You're still shuffling around a little, but believe me, you're dead. The part of you that could have survived indefinitely is gone. I just struck you from the permanent record."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 6th, 2008, 04:26 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,269
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Login to Router Website???

first of all not very smart not to detail what model you have.. we do not guess

if the unit is from ISP specific or provided unit you may need to contact ISP. There are few models are customize for ISP ONLY and it is not same as netgear default

if this is not ISP then see "router reset" on my sig, step1
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 7th, 2008, 02:12 AM
algypalgy algypalgy is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
algypalgy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Login to Router Website???

Many thanks all, but it looks like I have no choice but to use the reset button.

Thanks again.

Kind regards, Algypalgy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:27 AM.