#1  
Old September 9th, 2008, 10:39 PM
Greven Greven is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Greven is on a distinguished road
Default WNR2000 + Xbox 360 Wireless?

Have i bought myself trouble and headache?

I had set everything up with my Xbox connected by a ethernet, LAN, to my WNR2000, and this no doubt works perfect with all other components in my network (Squeezebox, NAS and laptop). So i tought i was home free....

But then when i was about to move the router to itīs destined place and connect the Xbox 360 by the official wireless adapter problem starts.

Followed every step in this thread
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread...eless+settings

Wich i thought sounded very much as the sulution to my problems, at the end of it someone with the WNR3500 fixed it with the help of the thread. But my struggle continues.

Tested all kinds of encryptions including no at all. But everytime i test the media or Xbox Live connection it halts att the post "Wireless - Not connected", clicking back it says "*My SSID* - Connected", but i have no IP for the device, it doesent get any....

Please help =( or at least tell me i if should return my WNR2000 beacuse it wont work how much i struggle with it. I can still return it and pick anotherone i think.....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 10th, 2008, 01:10 AM
Greven Greven is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Greven is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 + Xbox 360 Wireless?

EDIT: Sorry for the "post reply", but didenīt find how to edit own posts? Just wanted to add that i got no problems connecting to my W-Fi modem, wich opperates with WEP 64 bit Encryption. That works anytime as i found out. And itīs just the xbox that doesenīt seem to cooperate with my demands!

Gear connected:

Logitech Squeezebox via WAN - No problems
Laptop Via WAN (Wireless N USB-dongle) - No problems
Netgear ReadynNAS Duo via LAN - No problems
Xbox 360 works via LAN but hence this post, not via WAN
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 10th, 2008, 05:47 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000 + Xbox 360 Wireless?

wrong area

moving to RangeMax Next Routers

why 64bit WEP.. most hackable encryption. change to wpa, wpa2.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 10th, 2008, 11:25 AM
Greven Greven is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Greven is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 + Xbox 360 Wireless?

Sorry, thanks for the correction.

Well why WEP 64? Most of the sk "solutions" are based on that the xbox wi-fi dongle do not work well with other than wep 64/128. But i shure would lite to go for WPA2.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 10th, 2008, 11:43 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000 + Xbox 360 Wireless?

problem is using newer router with N protocol with such a old adapter

you can only use B & G mode if works but other than that you may simply have compatible issue and need to replace with more up to date or use wired.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 11th, 2008, 01:33 AM
Greven Greven is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Greven is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 + Xbox 360 Wireless?

Well. The WNR2000 interface says it is compatible with b & g. People have got it working with the WNR3500, wich also is "N" standard.

I got no problems connecting other devices wich only understands b & g (Internal wi-fi in laptop and Logitech squeezebox).

I can see and connect to the Router, but i dont get an IP asigned.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 11th, 2008, 05:32 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000 + Xbox 360 Wireless?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greven View Post
Well. The WNR2000 interface says it is compatible with b & g. People have got it working with the WNR3500, wich also is "N" standard.

I got no problems connecting other devices wich only understands b & g (Internal wi-fi in laptop and Logitech squeezebox).

I can see and connect to the Router, but i dont get an IP asigned.....
there are some compatible chipset issue with each other that may not work well
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 12th, 2008, 12:09 AM
Greven Greven is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Greven is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 + Xbox 360 Wireless?

Well, i take it then i should get another router, no one before me here trying the WNR2000 with the xbox 360 Wi-Fi Dongle and can confirm this?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 12th, 2008, 04:49 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000 + Xbox 360 Wireless?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greven View Post
Well, i take it then i should get another router, no one before me here trying the WNR2000 with the xbox 360 Wi-Fi Dongle and can confirm this?
using WEP 64bit just seems to be very odd and also way way to old be used. using WEP on WNR router really defeats of using WNR to begin with for N-speed. you should combine cheap 54Mbps for just WEP adapter only.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 28th, 2008, 08:45 AM
Dafu Dafu is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Dafu is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 + Xbox 360 Wireless?

I've got the exact same problem:
New WNR2000 router doesn't seem to work with the XBOX 360 wireless adapter.
I'm stuck at "no connection" as well with several hours now of trying to make it run.
Believe me, I've got quite some experience in setting up wireless networks (in fact it runs smooth with my PC, laptops and PS3)...
but it's hopeless with the XBOX and I'll probably have to return the otherwise nice wireless router.

-unless anyone here can tell me how he made it work...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:01 PM.