#1  
Old October 8th, 2008, 05:05 AM
flocool flocool is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
flocool is on a distinguished road
Default Block a MAC address on the WGR614 router

Hi everybody,

I have a question :
I have at home a WGR614 v9 router and I would like to know how I can block the internet access for only one MAC address ?

Indeed, the only solution I found is to block all the devices and only allow the MAC adress I know. But the disadvantage is I need to add the MAC address of a new device if I want it to be connected on the internet.

Is there any solution to block only one MAC address ?

Thanks in advance !
(and I apologize for my english, I'm French ^^)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 8th, 2008, 05:13 AM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Block a MAC address on the WGR614 router

Unfortunatly, I think the MAC ACL is the only real option. There is no blacklist option. At least that I know of.
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 8th, 2008, 05:27 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,375
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Block a MAC address on the WGR614 router

one that works good would be DLINK securspot DSD150

it is subscription base but it will block by the mac address of the think client installed and also general layer that blocks in different level. for what it is , works good. might just look at it. I know securespot is growing for DLINK that new models on router is adding this features.

DSD-150 goes between the broadband modem and router which transparent so there is not NAT issues. I use for small client and works great...
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 8th, 2008, 06:10 AM
flocool flocool is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
flocool is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Block a MAC address on the WGR614 router

Thanks for your answers.

If there is no blacklist, I will set a white list with the MAC ACL. I don't want to buy anything else.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 8th, 2008, 06:14 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,375
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Block a MAC address on the WGR614 router

Quote:
Originally Posted by flocool View Post
Thanks for your answers.

If there is no blacklist, I will set a white list with the MAC ACL. I don't want to buy anything else.

Thanks again
what you see is what you get on interface
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:47 PM.