#1  
Old October 8th, 2008, 06:46 AM
denisvignes denisvignes is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
denisvignes is on a distinguished road
Default WNHDE111 WDS configuration how to

Hello

the documentation about WDS is very poor

how to configure 4 WNHDE111 for a WDS (big wireless network)

thanks you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 8th, 2008, 07:05 AM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNHDE111 WDS configuration how to

Have you seen this and followed it?

ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/WN...IG_18Jan08.pdf
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 8th, 2008, 11:12 AM
denisvignes denisvignes is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
denisvignes is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNHDE111 WDS configuration how to

Quote:
Originally Posted by nobel_nomar View Post
Have you seen this and followed it?

ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/WN...IG_18Jan08.pdf
noo
i speak about WDS not the simply AP or Bridge
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 8th, 2008, 11:28 AM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNHDE111 WDS configuration how to

Quote:
Does WNHDE111 Support WDS?

The WNHDE111 supports WDS (Wireless Distribution System) or sometimes referred to as Repeater mode. When a WNHDE111 is configured as a repeater, you will be able to connect wired and wireless devices to it at the same time. It should be noted that when running on WDS that performance would drop to about 50% due to protocol's big overhead.

How to setup WDS between 2 WNHDE111:
On the back of the WNHDE111, set the Mode to AP.
Connect a cable to the WNHDE111 port, and the other end to a router LAN port.
Connect a cable to the other port of the WNHDE111, and the other end to a PC.
Run the Configuration Assistant (utility that came with the Resource CD) to scan for WNHDE111 on the network.
On the Configuration Assistant window, double-click the WNHDE111 you just connected (verify using MAC address) to open the web GUI.


Login to the web GUI and go to Wireless Settings menu.


Disable Auto Channel Scan by un-checking the box.
For Wireless Channel, select a channel from the drop-down list.
For Wireless security mode, select WEP. Note: WDS only works with WEP security.
For WEP Key Length, select 64-bit (or 128-bit).
For WEP key 1 to 4, type your 10 Hex digits security key.
Click Apply. (Make a note of the Wireless Network Name, 802.11 mode, Wireless channel, and WEP settings, so you can input the same settings on the second WNHDE111.)
Go to Advanced Wireless menu
Enable WDS by clicking the box next to WDS Enable.
Enter the MAC address of the other WNHDE111.


Hit Apply.
Repeat steps 1 to 16 to configure the second WNHDE111.
Disconnect one of the WNHDE111 from the router and let it connect wirelessly to the WNHDE111 attached to the router.

Once this is configured, you can connect wired devices, as well as wireless (5GHz) devices on either WNHDE111.
This should get you started at least
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 8th, 2008, 01:59 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNHDE111 WDS configuration how to

here is some

http://www.unix.ms/netgear/

if you are making single location to push 4 WHNDE111 not in repeat mode.

Here is is some descrip for other AP devices.

Advanced Wireless Settings Help

Access Point Mode

Select the desired Access Point mode for your environment:
Access Point - Operate as a standard 802.11g or 802.11b Access Point. In this mode, the WG602 will communicate with wireless clients only.

Wireless Point-to-Point Bridging - In this mode, the WG602 will communicate with a single bridge-mode wireless access point. And, if you check the Enable Wireless Client Association checkbox, wireless clients will also be serviced by this access point. You must enter the MAC address (physical address) of the other Bridge-mode Wireless Station in the field provided. WEP can (and should) be used to protect this communication.

Wireless Multi-Point Bridging - In this mode, the WG602 will communicate with up to four bridge-mode wireless access points. And, if you check the Enable Wireless Client Association checkbox, wireless clients will also be serviced by this access point. You must enter the MAC address (physical address) of each other Bridge-mode Wireless Station in the field provided. Each wireless access point you enter will be listed in the Wireless Remote Access Point List. When you enter the remote wireless access point MAC address, the WG602 will attempt to validate that the SSID, channel, and WEP configuration of the remote access point matches the settings of this WG602. WEP can (and should) be used to protect this traffic.

Repeater - In this mode, the WG602 will operate as a Repeater only, and send all traffic to the remote AP. If selected, you must enter the MAC address (physical address) of the remote AP.

Client Mode - In this mode, the WG602 will operate as a client bridge only, and send all traffic to the remote AP or peer device. If selected, you must reconfigure the device after reboot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:21 PM.