#1  
Old November 14th, 2008, 08:47 AM
leuzz leuzz is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
leuzz is on a distinguished road
Default DGN2000: can't add a mac address in address reservation list

Hello,

As in subject, when I try to add to the address resevation list this specific MAC address: 08:00:20:xx:xx:xx
I get the error message: "Invalid MAC Address, please enter again!"

The issue is in the Javascript "isValidMAC" function in utility.js, when the first two digit are checked for '00'. (rows 131, 133).

Why the two firsts hex digits of a MAC address are supposed to be '00'?
According to http://standards.ieee.org/regauth/oui/oui.txt there are a lot of MAC addresses excluded.
  #2  
Old November 14th, 2008, 08:59 AM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN2000: can't add a mac address in address reservation list

This is a very interesting occurance. Please post more details. Where you found this in the code, how you found it, examples of valid and invalid addresses, etc.

This may help fix a big bug, if true
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
  #3  
Old November 14th, 2008, 09:47 AM
leuzz leuzz is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
leuzz is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN2000: can't add a mac address in address reservation list

Quote:
Originally Posted by nobel_nomar View Post
This is a very interesting occurance. Please post more details. Where you found this in the code, how you found it, examples of valid and invalid addresses, etc.

This may help fix a big bug, if true
Javascript code is avaible without authentication by the link http://your-router-IP-Address/utility.js

As I wrote, issue is in the isValidMAC function:

Quote:
function isValidMAC(inputStr,validChars,len) // returns true or false, no msg
{
var illegal = 0;
var illegal_char = 0;
if (len <= 0) // no set length
;
else if (inputStr.length != len)
return false;
//alert("inputStr="+inputStr);
for(i=0; i < inputStr.length; i++)
{
var c = inputStr.charAt(i);
if (i == 0 && c != '0')
return false;
if (i == 1 && c != '0')
return false;
if(i == 0 && ( c == '0' || c == 'f' || c == 'F')){
illegal_char = c;
}
if((illegal_char == c)
|| (illegal_char == 'f' && c=='F')
|| (illegal_char == 'F' && c=='f'))
illegal++;
else
illegal = 0;

if (validChars.indexOf(c) == -1 )
return false;
}
if(illegal == len)
return false;
return true;
}
You can see the rows marked in bold, they checks for '00' in the firsts two digits.

For bypass this, I did a manual edit on a backup configuration file (plaintext, thanks Netgear) and then I restored the file modified.
  #4  
Old November 14th, 2008, 10:14 AM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN2000: can't add a mac address in address reservation list

Does it work with your modification?

Post the MAC addresses that worked and didn't work (if you don't mind)
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
  #5  
Old November 14th, 2008, 10:37 AM
leuzz leuzz is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
leuzz is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN2000: can't add a mac address in address reservation list

Quote:
Originally Posted by nobel_nomar View Post
Does it work with your modification?

Post the MAC addresses that worked and didn't work (if you don't mind)
Yes, it works.

MAC Address is: 08:00:20:BB:08:9B
It can be added to the list by a manual editing of the configuration file.
This means:
- Backup current configuration.
- Edit the configuration file with a text editor.
- Restore the modified configuration file.

Editing configuration is very simple, all options are well commented.
  #6  
Old November 14th, 2008, 10:49 AM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN2000: can't add a mac address in address reservation list

Thanks for the info on this one, I'm sure this can be fixed in a firmware update
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
  #7  
Old November 14th, 2008, 12:02 PM
leuzz leuzz is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
leuzz is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN2000: can't add a mac address in address reservation list

Is there a place where I can find a bug list?
  #8  
Old November 14th, 2008, 12:05 PM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN2000: can't add a mac address in address reservation list

This is where it would be:
http://kbserver.netgear.com/release_notes/d103335.asp

But they obviously don't think there are any bugs in the initial release lol. I want to check this with other models. Do you think this is a standard function? Or one just for this model?
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
  #9  
Old November 14th, 2008, 12:50 PM
leuzz leuzz is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
leuzz is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN2000: can't add a mac address in address reservation list

This is my own first Netgear router.
I think it has a lot of problem, this one is only the most obvious after 4 days of normal use.
Anyway, of course! It can be a standard function.
Other models can have different path or file name to javascript code.
Generally you can find it in html sources of their web interface.
  #10  
Old November 17th, 2008, 06:00 AM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGN2000: can't add a mac address in address reservation list

Hey, I got someone in the UK to test this and they didn't have any issues, check out the screenshot:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/32496042@N03/3037583809/

Also, what web browsers have you tried?
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:09 PM.