Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Adapters > RangeMax Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 17th, 2008, 07:27 PM
pitdemon pitdemon is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 19
pitdemon is on a distinguished road
Default Sudden speed fluctuations

I have a WPN311 rangemax adapter connecting to a WPN824v2 wireless router.Everything has been working fine for a little over a year now,but all the sudden my connection speed fluctuates drastically.Right now its going from 12Mbps to 32Mbps.

Also I noticed the rangemax feature in the wireless advanced settings was turned off,so I turned it back on clicked accept,and no matter what I do I can see the router network name on the list but cant connect to it.Disabling rangemax allows me to connect but its slow at best most of the time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 18th, 2008, 08:33 AM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sudden speed fluctuations

You could try uninstalling it and trying this version instead:
http://kbserver.netgear.com/release_notes/d103109.asp
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 18th, 2008, 10:22 AM
pitdemon pitdemon is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 19
pitdemon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sudden speed fluctuations

So Im assuming you believe the adapters drivers may have become corrupted somehow?Also forgot to mention that under connected devices, its showing the device as unknown where it used to state the actual name of the computer i hooked up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 18th, 2008, 10:39 AM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sudden speed fluctuations

Sounds like a driver issue to me
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 19th, 2008, 09:21 PM
pitdemon pitdemon is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 19
pitdemon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sudden speed fluctuations

Ok that got it to recognize the computers name and allowed me to enable extended range.The speed is still fluctuating,so my question is once it says connected to internet,does the speed it displays reflect the actual internet speed or the speed between the router and adapter?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 20th, 2008, 06:31 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,352
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sudden speed fluctuations

Quote:
12Mbps to 32Mbps.
it's wireless. you can not retain constant connection speed. it will change and also other 2.4Ghz around your location around could cause it. 2.4Ghz saturation if you live in dense area.

if you broadband is 6Mpbs, I don't think you will see any. unless you are doing file transfer.

maybe within a year, other 2.4Ghz is around you which may cause some inteferernces
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 20th, 2008, 05:27 PM
pitdemon pitdemon is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 19
pitdemon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sudden speed fluctuations

I understand the interference thing,so I guess my next question is, can you point me to or tell me how to set up a second wireless router as a repeating station?

Im having a hard time wrapping my head around it not being connected to anything and how to access it.I just want to know before I go buy it because Ill probably buy the next step up and use the old one as the repeater.

And now that Ive had some experience with the problem longer than a week and actually being able to play at different hours,it definitely is interference because during work hours its just fine.BTW, Im pretty happy with mt netgear stuff I havent experienced any of the problems most write about, and after a year, a small driver glitch which I believe to have happened after I found a particularly nasty virus and cleaned it.Basically Ive had a whole year without a hiccup so this is just another puzzle to be solved to me.Thanks for all the help and advice.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 20th, 2008, 06:19 PM
fordem fordem is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,213
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sudden speed fluctuations

If interference is the problem, adding a repeater is THE last thing you'd want to do - not only are you adding another transmitting source to the melee, you're putting it on the same channel as your existing router and virtually guaranteeing that the levels of interference will increase.

Repeaters also cut your available bandwidth by 50% - they must first receive, then transmit, they cannot do both simultaneously
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 16th, 2008, 06:11 AM
pitdemon pitdemon is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 19
pitdemon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sudden speed fluctuations

Ok, for some reason switching it to channel 5 seemed to work the best for me.I also added a couple of shields to try and direct the signals to each other and possibly cut noise form some sources.Im back to 100% signal again and am able to play games non-stop no problems.

Once again my netgear is working flawlessly!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 16th, 2008, 07:53 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,352
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sudden speed fluctuations

Quote:
Originally Posted by pitdemon View Post
Ok, for some reason switching it to channel 5 seemed to work the best for me.I also added a couple of shields to try and direct the signals to each other and possibly cut noise form some sources.Im back to 100% signal again and am able to play games non-stop no problems.

Once again my netgear is working flawlessly!
1-6-11 is your best choice

chan5 will interfere with Chan6
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:11 AM.