#1  
Old November 20th, 2008, 03:53 AM
davidoff davidoff is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
davidoff is on a distinguished road
Default Open port in router to redirect incoming traffic

Ive made my own ventriloserver, but no one can connect to it so i opened port 3784 in my router setup, still not working. So i asked arouned on forums and got the answer that i have to redirect the port so ppl can connect to my ip. Only port i can open gotta have same ip adress as my LAN ip adress so only people connected to my network at home can get acces to hit, how do i open a port so anyone can connect to it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 20th, 2008, 06:17 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Open port in router to redirect incoming traffic

see "Router setup" on my sig. if broadband and router is not setup right, it will NOT work

also always post model
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 20th, 2008, 08:12 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,306
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Open port in router to redirect incoming traffic

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidoff View Post
Ive made my own ventriloserver, but no one can connect to it so i opened port 3784 in my router setup, still not working. So i asked arouned on forums and got the answer that i have to redirect the port so ppl can connect to my ip. Only port i can open gotta have same ip adress as my LAN ip adress so only people connected to my network at home can get acces to hit, how do i open a port so anyone can connect to it?
Please read what you have posted and see if it makes sense to you - maybe have someone close by do the same.

Quote:
Only port i can open gotta have same ip adress as my LAN ip adress so only people connected to my network at home can get acces to hit, how do i open a port so anyone can connect to it?
If you want only people connected to your network at home to get access to a server on the same network, you probably don't need to open any ports on the router/firewall
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:01 PM.