#1  
Old December 10th, 2008, 06:09 PM
jarmod jarmod is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
jarmod is on a distinguished road
Question DHCP tells me that DNS is 192.168.1.1

I have set up my WGR614 router to use explicit DNS addresses (those of OpenDNS) rather than my own ISP's DNS servers.

When I run "ipconfig /all" on my DHCP clients, it reports that the sole DNS server is 192.168.1.1, i.e. the IP address of the router itself. I was expecting it to report the 2x OpenDNS IP addresses.

Is this working as expected (the router behaving as a proxy DNS server)? I seem to recall that my previous NetGear router (FVS318) returned both OpenDNS addresses explicitly.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 10th, 2008, 06:15 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: DHCP tells me that DNS is 192.168.1.1

WRONG AREA

MOVING TO Super-G (108 Mbps) & 802.11g (54 Mbps) Routers


you will not see openDNS on pc side it will show gateway of the router 192.168.1.1

it's fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 10th, 2008, 06:18 PM
jarmod jarmod is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
jarmod is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DHCP tells me that DNS is 192.168.1.1

Thanks for the quick reply. I was reading the manual online and it says:
The router will deliver the following parameters to any LAN device that requests DHCP:
• An IP Address from the range you have defined
• Subnet Mask
• Gateway IP Address (the router’s LAN IP address)
• Primary DNS Server (if you entered a Primary DNS address in the Basic Settings menu;
otherwise, the router’s LAN IP address)
• Secondary DNS Server (if you entered a Secondary DNS address in the Basic Settings menu
The last 2 bullets seem to imply that I *should* see the explicit addresses.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 10th, 2008, 06:28 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: DHCP tells me that DNS is 192.168.1.1

I use FVX with OpenDNS and checked my EEEPC just now with ipconfig /all
it will only show gateway...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 10th, 2008, 06:31 PM
jarmod jarmod is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
jarmod is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: DHCP tells me that DNS is 192.168.1.1

That's good enough for me. I greatly appreciate your help. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 10th, 2008, 06:34 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: DHCP tells me that DNS is 192.168.1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by jarmod View Post
That's good enough for me. I greatly appreciate your help. Thanks.
I'm on mac and I know mac also did show gateway but I just wanna make point so I double check with my EEPC.

you will ONLY see DNS entry of openDNS if you put on PC side. you will see then. this case you are not using NAT to do it all
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 10th, 2011, 04:51 AM
LakeHippie LakeHippie is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
LakeHippie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DHCP tells me that DNS is 192.168.1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
I'm on mac and I know mac also did show gateway but I just wanna make point so I double check with my EEPC.

you will ONLY see DNS entry of openDNS if you put on PC side. you will see then. this case you are not using NAT to do it all
This is NOT good enough for me. I have similar scenario: My WAN IP setting points to an internal DNS server (on the LAN subnet), but DHCP propogates gateway and DNS address equal to the router address. I've been configuring my routers this way forever, and this is the first time the DHCP failed to distribute the DNS address I entered. Why is this not a product defect?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 10th, 2011, 07:04 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: DHCP tells me that DNS is 192.168.1.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by LakeHippie View Post
This is NOT good enough for me. I have similar scenario: My WAN IP setting points to an internal DNS server (on the LAN subnet), but DHCP propogates gateway and DNS address equal to the router address. I've been configuring my routers this way forever, and this is the first time the DHCP failed to distribute the DNS address I entered. Why is this not a product defect?
Pointing internal DNS server ip on WAN side will fail on Netgear. This setup widely discussed. Mightbe 3700 discussion section
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:02 AM.