#1  
Old December 19th, 2008, 05:13 AM
wishingstars wishingstars is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
wishingstars is on a distinguished road
Default VPN doesn't work anymore (824v2)

I had been successfully connecting to my office VPN using Windows XP remote desktop and WN511T wireless card to my Netgear 824v2 router. Suddenly, a few weeks ago, the connection gets hung up as it is trying to verify user info on the work side. If I direct wire to my cable modem, all works fine. IT dept. confirms that there is nothing different on their end and I may have done an upgrade on the Netgear side to most current version of software. Any ideas on how I can restore connection as it is not easy using the direct wire (I disable everyone else in the house). Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 19th, 2008, 05:16 AM
wishingstars wishingstars is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
wishingstars is on a distinguished road
Default Re: VPN doesn't work anymore (824v2)

Sorry - forgot to add that the Windows firewall is turned off and the VPN is configured correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 19th, 2008, 08:24 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: VPN doesn't work anymore (824v2)

what was the recent change in your network setups. firmware etc. or even PC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 19th, 2008, 08:24 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: VPN doesn't work anymore (824v2)

moving to RangeMax Routers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 19th, 2008, 01:34 PM
wishingstars wishingstars is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
wishingstars is on a distinguished road
Default Re: VPN doesn't work anymore (824v2)

I've upgraded to V2.0.20_1.2.17NA - that's all I can think of. I've tried a couple of things... (1) tried to go back to a Windows system restore point before the trouble but Windows can't restore. (2) Installed the original version of Netgear (wpn824v2_1_0_13) with no luck either. I've since gone back to the most current version - 17NA (3) Tried connecting without the Netgear wireless card and using an actual connection from router to pc with no luck. Only way it works is to go directly from cable modem to pc. Windows firewall and McAfee firewalls were both turned off.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 19th, 2008, 02:14 PM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: VPN doesn't work anymore (824v2)

Did you have any port forwarding rules that may have been removed after the upgrade?
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 19th, 2008, 05:13 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: VPN doesn't work anymore (824v2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wishingstars View Post
I've upgraded to V2.0.20_1.2.17NA - that's all I can think of. I've tried a couple of things... (1) tried to go back to a Windows system restore point before the trouble but Windows can't restore. (2) Installed the original version of Netgear (wpn824v2_1_0_13) with no luck either. I've since gone back to the most current version - 17NA (3) Tried connecting without the Netgear wireless card and using an actual connection from router to pc with no luck. Only way it works is to go directly from cable modem to pc. Windows firewall and McAfee firewalls were both turned off.
make sure you done hard reset after re-flashing

see "router reset" on my sig below and step1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:26 AM.