#1  
Old December 20th, 2008, 09:54 AM
lowei lowei is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
lowei is on a distinguished road
Default The HomePlug Adapter was not detected

Can someone help me please,after speaking to 4 netgear support staff i still cant get my home plug to work,i just keep getting the homeplug adapter was not detected,please help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 20th, 2008, 09:58 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: The HomePlug Adapter was not detected

try your test within same room

if same room do not detect anymore if was working then could be that unit is bad.

also avoid an outlet /breaker that uses same large equipment
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 20th, 2008, 11:52 PM
lowei lowei is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
lowei is on a distinguished road
Default Re: The HomePlug Adaptor was not detected

These are brand new, and all lights are on both.And yes iam trying in same room...They are plugged directly in socket..After loading the configuration program the connection is detected for a moment before disappearing. I then get a "Homeplug NOT DETECTED" error
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 21st, 2008, 09:56 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: The HomePlug Adaptor was not detected

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowei View Post
These are brand new, and all lights are on both.And yes iam trying in same room...They are plugged directly in socket..After loading the configuration program the connection is detected for a moment before disappearing. I then get a "Homeplug NOT DETECTED" error
have you test with breaker on/off so that those plug are on same circuit?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 22nd, 2008, 12:13 AM
lowei lowei is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
lowei is on a distinguished road
Default Re: The HomePlug Adaptor was not detected

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
have you test with breaker on/off so that those plug are on same circuit?
Its not on a breaker switch,plugged directly into a socket
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 22nd, 2008, 03:52 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: The HomePlug Adapter was not detected

I meant was cirucit breaker!

Unlikely that you plug the both on different circuit. Do you get it
In that same room. All the oulet should come from same circuit. I know one of my room has two circuit so when you cut off the breakder Half remains on.

Essentially should work anywhere in the house nut with other nosie issue. Outside transformer, etc you need to be sure you are testing within same circuit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 22nd, 2008, 01:43 PM
lowei lowei is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
lowei is on a distinguished road
Default Re: The HomePlug Adapter was not detected

Its definitely on the same circuit.when searching for wireless networks i can find the homeplug.but once i connect to it i cant get on INTERNET explorer.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 22nd, 2008, 01:54 PM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,309
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: The HomePlug Adapter was not detected

I can see what's going to cause problems here is not saying (or writing) what you mean.

You've gone from "The HomePlug Adapter was not detected" to "it's definitely on the same circuit.when searching for wireless networks i can find the home plug."

What does searching for wireless networks have to do with home plugs? And how does it prove that they are on the same circuit? Completely unrelated things.

I suggest you start over - and this time give some model numbers - and some accurate details about what is not working, and how it's not working - including the exact text of the error messages.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 23rd, 2008, 05:14 AM
lowei lowei is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
lowei is on a distinguished road
Default Re: The HomePlug Adapter was not detected

[QUOTE=fordem;157052]I can see what's going to cause problems here is not saying (or writing) what you mean.

You've gone from "The HomePlug Adapter was not detected" to "it's definitely on the same circuit.when searching for wireless networks i can find the home plug."
The homeplug adapter was not detected,is the message which appears once i use the cd, software that came with the home plugs...the electricity supply for the sockets are all on 1 circuit

What does searching for wireless networks have to do with home plugs? And how does it prove that they are on the same circuit? Completely unrelated things.
My dell latop can search for a wirless connections,and it finds the wireless Netgear WGXB102UK 54Mbps Homeplug Wireless Range Extender (Homeplug + Homeplug inc 11g Adaptor)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 23rd, 2008, 05:19 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: The HomePlug Adapter was not detected

two thing to deal with. home plug is wireless power line device.

before ANY you need to use ethernet cable to the home plug and do not use any wireless at all home plug and find the other home plug
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:51 AM.