Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 16th, 2009, 05:45 PM
sschone sschone is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
sschone is on a distinguished road
Default Reset Router IP Address

Router - Netgear 54 Mbps Wireless Router WGR614 v7.

I need a new IP address for my home computer. My ISP, Time Warner suggested 2 methods:

1. Turn off the cable modem for 24 hours prior to the IP renewing, which should assign a new one after the existing is picked up by someone else.

2. Reset the IP through the router. I'd prefer this approach so I'm not down for 24 hours. How is it done? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 16th, 2009, 05:58 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,057
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Reset Router IP Address

if time warner will release IP after 24hrs, then you need to turn off

reset the router will not make any faster since the mac address already in the system of time warner. 24hrs is when they release so it would make no difference.

you can do use " use pc mac address" under basic setting then ISP will release different IP since it will be different mac address
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 16th, 2009, 06:05 PM
sschone sschone is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
sschone is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Reset Router IP Address

Thanks! Can you clarify this please?
"you can do use " use pc mac address" under basic setting then ISP will release different IP since it will be different mac address"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 16th, 2009, 06:22 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,057
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Reset Router IP Address

Quote:
Originally Posted by sschone View Post
Thanks! Can you clarify this please?
"you can do use " use pc mac address" under basic setting then ISP will release different IP since it will be different mac address"
login the router and see for yourself. you use PC mac address instead of mac address of rotuer's WAN side so that your isp will release it.

same as hooking PC directly to the modem in way. still it will allow other pc on the network get on to the internet

do ipconfig /all and get mac address of pc
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 17th, 2009, 01:59 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,398
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Reset Router IP Address

Cable ISPs equipment links IP addresses with MAC addresses. The modem tells the ISP the MAC address of whatever is connected to it, i.e. the MAC address that the router reports.

In the router Basic Settings you have three options, to use the router MAC address, the configuring PC MAC address, or to enter a MAC manually. Switching between the first two options will cause the ISP to issue a new IP address, don’t use the third option unless you are certain that the MAC you enter is unique.

When you change the MAC setting in the router it is often necessary to power off both the router and the modem, then power on the modem, let it initialise, then power on the router. Some cable ISPs can take several minutes to issue a new IP address.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:46 AM.