#1  
Old January 21st, 2009, 04:07 AM
ericagorham ericagorham is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
ericagorham is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Wireless connections work, LAN does not connect!

I installed the RangeMax WPN824 as the instructions told me to but for some reason the wired computer now does not have internet.
However my laptop connects through the wireless.
I don't understand why the LAN isn't working.
Help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 21st, 2009, 04:39 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,528
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless connections work, LAN does not connect!

Are you sure the laptop is connecting to your router, are you still using the default SSID ‘Netgear’? To be sure switch off the router while the laptop shows a connection.

Are you sure the modem is connected to the router WAN port?

If you don’t use the wireless connection does the wired PC then connect?

If you have a DSL modem it may need to be put into Bridged Mode (many DSL modems are modem/routers).
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 21st, 2009, 04:53 AM
ericagorham ericagorham is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10
ericagorham is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless connections work, LAN does not connect!

Yes it's definitely connecting to my router.

I'm not sure what the WAN port is but I connected the yellow ethernet cable (which was supplied with the router) to the internet port on the router and to the DSL set top box (I'm on VirginMedia).
And the ethernet cable attached to my desktop computer in one of the LAN ports on the router.

How do I put it in Bridged mode?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 21st, 2009, 05:43 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Wireless connections work, LAN does not connect!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericagorham View Post
Yes it's definitely connecting to my router.

I'm not sure what the WAN port is but I connected the yellow ethernet cable (which was supplied with the router) to the internet port on the router and to the DSL set top box (I'm on VirginMedia).
And the ethernet cable attached to my desktop computer in one of the LAN ports on the router.

How do I put it in Bridged mode?

Thanks
call ISP for "bridge mode" on your DSL modem/router unit

since laptop do work which directly not related to "bridge mode" but it is necessary to do it for long run so fix that.

I would also try manual DNS on wired PC and if that helps IF after "bridge mode" does not cure it

4.2.2.1
4.2.2.2

use above on PC side tcp/ip properties
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 21st, 2009, 05:56 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,528
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless connections work, LAN does not connect!

I thought all Virgin Media set top boxes were cable, not DSL.

I may be wrong, but I have a sneaky feeling that Virgin set top boxes still register the MAC address of the connected device. If so then in the router basic setting use the option to clone the MAC address of the PC, assuming that same PC normally connects to the box OK. In any case this will do no harm. Don't forget after making the change to power down the STB and router then power on the STB, let it start up, then the router.

A quick 'Google' revealed lots of hits such as this;

http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/87...t-top-box.html
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.

Last edited by Mars Mug; January 21st, 2009 at 05:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 21st, 2009, 05:59 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Wireless connections work, LAN does not connect!

I thought too... I don't keep much anymore. it's user's responsibility know what it is.

I'm people what car they drive but sure can't figure out what they are paying for their internet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:17 AM.