#1  
Old February 9th, 2009, 10:22 AM
kreza kreza is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
kreza is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Setup problem with XE102 and DG834v4

Hi,

I have a wired-only Netgear DG834v4 ADSL router which is working fine and serving up 192.168.0.x addresses to my LAN.

I have also got the XE102 wireless range extender, which is plugged in and connected, all three LEDs are lit on both units.

Can I use the XE102 in AP mode? Or do I have to configure a different subnet to use it with the DG834v4?

I have tried it both ways, each time my laptop connects ok to the wireless network but gets no IP address via DHCP. So I give the laptop a static IP but am unable to ping the ADSL router or access any internet info.

Please help, it's driving me crazy.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 9th, 2009, 10:58 AM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setup problem with XE102 and DG834v4

The WGX102 should function as an independent AP pretty much, but it should be pulling addresses from your router still.
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 9th, 2009, 11:26 AM
kreza kreza is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
kreza is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setup problem with XE102 and DG834v4

I have the XE102 configured in AP mode but my laptop's wireless adaptor is not getting an IP address from it. Do I have to disable the firewall on my DG834v4 router?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 9th, 2009, 11:36 AM
kreza kreza is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
kreza is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setup problem with XE102 and DG834v4

Just realised there's no way to disable the default rules, don't think I should have to do that anyway.

I have the WGX102 configured in AP mode, with it's own IP set to DHCP. Tried reconnecting to the wireless network and same problem occurs, it just says "Identifying" for ages and then gives up. I am unable to ping my ADSL router's default gateway.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 9th, 2009, 11:43 AM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setup problem with XE102 and DG834v4

So, to clarify:

DG834---(wired)--->XE102-----(powerline)---->WGX102----(wireless)--->Computer

Is this right?
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 9th, 2009, 11:58 AM
kreza kreza is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
kreza is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setup problem with XE102 and DG834v4

That's correct yes. The internet is working fine on the DG834 (I have a computer plugged directly into it), but I get nothing from the WGX102.

I can connect wirelessly to it from either computer, but no IP address is assigned. When I manually assign one, I can access the web admin page of the WGX102 but nothing else seems to work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 9th, 2009, 12:10 PM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setup problem with XE102 and DG834v4

Try putting both powerline devices in one room for testing
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 9th, 2009, 01:09 PM
kreza kreza is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
kreza is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setup problem with XE102 and DG834v4

I've tried that, doesn't make any difference. The wireless network connects up fine, full signal, it just doesn't offer any connecting to the 192.168.0.x LAN of the ADSL router.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 9th, 2009, 01:17 PM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setup problem with XE102 and DG834v4

Are all 3 of the lights on the XE102 (the one plugged into the router) lit up?
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 9th, 2009, 01:21 PM
kreza kreza is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
kreza is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setup problem with XE102 and DG834v4

Yes, all three LEDs are lit on both units.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:25 PM.