#1  
Old February 15th, 2009, 05:29 AM
rustyusry rustyusry is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
rustyusry is on a distinguished road
Default (192.168.1.3) is managing this device

I've got an out of the box WPN824v3 with firmware version 1.0.7_1.0.8NA.

I'm connected with 1 Vista Home laptop (both wireless & wired), 2 XP pro workstations (1 wireless and wired, 1 wired) and and apple.

Router is doing DHCP and lease times are default.

All I want to do is to be able to login to the router to manage it from any (I'll settle for just the windows machines) of the connections regardless of the IP address of the connection.

When I login with the user name and password, I get the message "Sorry (192.168.1.2).

How do I turn this off so I can login into the router from any workstation attached to my network?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 15th, 2009, 05:32 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,357
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (192.168.1.3) is managing this device

This said many times

Please search thread!

Use ONLY "logout" on left bottm of the router interface and not "X" on right top broweser
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 13th, 2010, 10:43 PM
2nihon 2nihon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
2nihon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (192.168.1.3) is managing this device

Didn't work for me. I clicked log out, waited for the 'Goodbye' message, and closed the browser, then browsed to the remote management port and got the same message. The router still thinks my computer is managing the router.

You have said repeatedly that power cycling the router is the quickest option, but this is only an option when I have physical access to the device, and I don't always have that. I believe this is a bug.

Last edited by Mars Mug; September 30th, 2010 at 10:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 14th, 2010, 04:40 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,357
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (192.168.1.3) is managing this device

remote access is from public IP and not private IP (192.168.1.3)

if pc 192.168.1.3 in the local network was used improperly and from public IP ,remotely access will get same results.

if from local network only while logout correctly do not show this behavior but only forum remote management out side your network contact support
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 30th, 2010, 11:24 AM
Smithgor Smithgor is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Smithgor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (192.168.1.3) is managing this device

Not the same numbers but the same problem, unresolved so far.

My son installed our newly arrived WNR3500 in my absence and plugged in all the network cables before setting up. Later, on my instruction, he used a single connected PC to set up the router and outwardly it seemed to work fine, however...

Trying to access the router from my PC with the network all connected I'm now told that 192.168.1.253 (sometimes 251) is managing the device which is interesting given that both of these are IP cameras.

Having read this thread I have variously and collectively done re-powering / reset to factory default / logged off at the bottom. Despite all this, as soon as the cameras are connected to the wired network I cannot connect or configure the router via my PC and get the message "(192.168.1.253) is managing this device".

I really dont want to re-assign the cameras' IP addresses as this would then also require me to reconfigure the settings by which they are accessed remotely over the internet. This was a pain first time around.

Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 30th, 2010, 04:25 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,357
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (192.168.1.3) is managing this device

Quote:
Not the same numbers but the same problem, unresolved so far.
doesn't tell much with some info

Quote:
Trying to access the router from my PC with the network all connected I'm now told that 192.168.1.253 (sometimes 251) is managing the device which is interesting given that both of these are IP cameras.
this issue with end user issues where one point that PC was using it's IP and access the router while user did NOT use "logout " option on left bottom of router interface and use "x" on browser. fix is to power ON/OFF the router


Quote:
Having read this thread I have variously and collectively done re-powering / reset to factory default / logged off at the bottom. Despite all this, as soon as the cameras are connected to the wired network I cannot connect or configure the router via my PC and get the message "(192.168.1.253) is managing this device".
rest the router first. see router reset on my sig below

then adjust DHCP range under LAN setup to

ex.
192.168.1.2~192.168.1.50

use all the camera and/or just need static IP use 192.168.1.51 above
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 30th, 2010, 10:38 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,456
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (192.168.1.3) is managing this device

Do the IP cameras use the router UPnP function at all? Is there anything in the IP camera setup pages that refers to UPnP?
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 3rd, 2010, 08:09 AM
Smithgor Smithgor is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Smithgor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: (192.168.1.3) is managing this device

I think Andy was on the right track.

Turns out to be nothing to do with resetting or not logging out.
Turned uPnP off on router and all works as it should.

Can only assume router comes with uPnP default as 'on'
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:23 PM.