#1  
Old February 1st, 2007, 11:02 AM
Jonnylu Jonnylu is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Jonnylu is on a distinguished road
Default DG834GT - Why can't I see attached devices?

As title says. I just can't see what devices are attached to my router in the admin page. I have a PC upstairs attached to it and a Nintendo wii. The wireless LED light on the router flickers to show that a device is using it but it doesn't appear in the attached devices page in admin.

I know it's probably something really simple but it really is driving me nuts. Any help would be much appreciated, thanks.

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 1st, 2007, 11:38 AM
Netgear1-9A-Z's Avatar
Netgear1-9A-Z Netgear1-9A-Z is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,875
Netgear1-9A-Z is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834GT - Why can't I see attached devices?

Hi and welcome to the forum.

A device that is connected to the router should show up in 'Attached Devices'.

Do the devices have ip addresses that are on the same network as the router (default gateway)?

Are the devices able to access the internet?

Latest firmware on the router with a reset?

Peace
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 1st, 2007, 02:09 PM
Jonnylu Jonnylu is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Jonnylu is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834GT - Why can't I see attached devices?

Thanks for the quick response. The only device that shows attached to the router, is my own pc connected via ethernet. The other pc and the wii are connected wirelessly and both have access to the internet.

It's been like this since I bought the router well over a year ago! I've only just brought myself around to do something about it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 05:27 AM
Netgear1-9A-Z's Avatar
Netgear1-9A-Z Netgear1-9A-Z is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,875
Netgear1-9A-Z is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834GT - Why can't I see attached devices?

Are you sure they are connected wireless to your network?

Do you have a unique SSID? Can the devices ping each other?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 2nd, 2007, 01:43 PM
fordem fordem is online now
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,478
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834GT - Why can't I see attached devices?

Are the other PC and the Wii configured for static or dynamic ip addresses?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 3rd, 2007, 02:09 AM
Jonnylu Jonnylu is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Jonnylu is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834GT - Why can't I see attached devices?

My pc is the only one configured as a static IP. The other PC and the wii have not had anything changes so I guess they're dynamic but can still go online with no problems.
They both connect through WPA-PSK security fine and there have been other devices in the past that have connect with no problems. My pc is the only machine that shows up in attached devices.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 13th, 2007, 04:32 AM
user1 user1 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
user1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834GT - Why can't I see attached devices?

UPnP enabled?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 14th, 2010, 12:25 AM
tomcat_ tomcat_ is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5
tomcat_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834GT - Why can't I see attached devices?

sorry for bringing that back...but i have exactly the same problem...

i have a laptop on winxp that is normally connected to the router, wirelessly, with no issues on connectivity and with ip address from the dhcp pool but is not showing on the "attached devices".

router is running the latest firmware...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 14th, 2010, 06:43 PM
mjordan mjordan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
mjordan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834GT - Why can't I see attached devices?

I'm on 1.02.16 and I have the same identical problem. I have noticed that if you constantly refresh the page (using the reload page of your browser) it eventually shows the devices attached to the router.
Quite frustrating, I know.

Last edited by Mars Mug; September 14th, 2010 at 10:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 23rd, 2014, 09:00 AM
juan_jimenez juan_jimenez is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
juan_jimenez is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834GT - Why can't I see attached devices?

I am using DG834G v2 with firmware version V3.01.38 and have the same problem reported by others. Furthermore, I thought this router only had 4 physical and 4 wireless ports but I have 7 devices apparently connected wirelessly and none appear on the attached devices list.

The suggestion made earlier to clich on Refresh multiple times does not work. It only shows one device for me and very sporadically.

Anyone from NetGear there who can enlighten us?

More controversially, has anyone found a router as good as (or better) that properly reports all devices connected be they wireless or not?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:24 AM.