#1  
Old April 1st, 2009, 12:18 PM
bemerick bemerick is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
bemerick is on a distinguished road
Default WNR3500 - those annoying blue lights

I just purchased a WNR3500. I have separately posted a thread about iChat connection failures unless SPI is disabled. This post is not as critical, but when you think about it in the context of a home use device, maybe it is...

The blue antenna status/connection status lights on the top of the unit are 1) very bright, 2) serve no useful purpose, 3) can't be dimmed or turned off or 4) all of the above. The desk where the router, cable modem, 8 port gigabit switch, NAS device and computers are is full of blinking status lights, but they are generally not too bright and I haven’t had to do anything to otherwise dim them. The NAS device, a Buffalo TeraStation, even allows you to dim the display and status lights to one of several levels. The desk is also in my bedroom.

Since Sunday, when I set up the router, the cat has attacked it because of the blinking and movement and knocked it over. I also realized that we wouldn't be able to sleep with that level of brightness and blinking. The router now features strips of black construction paper taped over the sides where the LEDs are. After doing that, I realized that a lot of additional blue light was leaking out of the top of the unit where the perforated vent is and reflecting off the ceiling. I created a light shield for that as well that doesn’t block the vent and allows the heat to escape.

For a home device, there should be a setting in the configuration pages that allows you to disable these lights. I'm certainly not going to open up a brand new unit, void the warranty and start unplugging or cutting wires. I recommend that this be implemented in a firmware upgrade.

Between this issue and the iChat problem, I'm seriously considering returning the unit and buying a TimeCapsule. It has one, count 'em, one light. I've been a loyal Netgear user for 12 years, but this is it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 1st, 2009, 12:21 PM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR3500 - those annoying blue lights

Try the button on the back
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 1st, 2009, 05:21 PM
VesNL VesNL is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 12
VesNL is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR3500 - those annoying blue lights

Every unit for the past 3-4 years of Netgear with the light has a button on the back which enables/disables the lights.

As a loyal user of Netgear you should have known that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 1st, 2009, 08:43 PM
bemerick bemerick is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
bemerick is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR3500 - those annoying blue lights

Thanks for your replies. I haven't needed to buy a new wireless device in the last 5 years, so I wouldn't have known about the switch for the lights. And yes, I saw the button, which has no label on the back panel. It is identified in the manual on the back panel diagram, which also states that it's disabled by default - but not in my case. I'm still voting for Time Capsule's one light...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 1st, 2009, 08:55 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR3500 - those annoying blue lights

Quote:
Originally Posted by bemerick View Post
Thanks for your replies. I haven't needed to buy a new wireless device in the last 5 years, so I wouldn't have known about the switch for the lights. And yes, I saw the button, which has no label on the back panel. It is identified in the manual on the back panel diagram, which also states that it's disabled by default - but not in my case. I'm still voting for Time Capsule's one light...
if you got mac... why you would go WNR3500.. go all out mac hardware... time capsule are kewl stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 3rd, 2009, 05:13 AM
mfcphil mfcphil is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 16
mfcphil is on a distinguished road
Default Re: - those annoying blue lights

I have the WNR3500 and I do not have a button at the back of mine
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 3rd, 2009, 06:25 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: - those annoying blue lights

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfcphil View Post
I have the WNR3500 and I do not have a button at the back of mine
3700 has switch in the back to disable WLAN .

for 3500, press the blue circle area. should turn off the light
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 3rd, 2009, 06:48 AM
beisser's Avatar
beisser beisser is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Near Munich, Germany
Posts: 3,620
beisser is on a distinguished road
Default Re: - those annoying blue lights

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
3700 has switch in the back to disable WLAN .

for 3500, press the blue circle area. should turn off the light
err.. the 3500 does not have a blue cirgle area..

and with newer routers the button in the back turns the whole device off, not just the knight rider leds.
__________________
Forum Rules
How to contact Techsupport using various methods!
How to contact Techsupport by phone!
How to contact Techsupport online!
IPSEC-VPN, Tips and Tricks and Howto's
How to get proper access to the Enterprise-Forum!

"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning." -- Rich Cook

EVA1: EVA9000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
EVA2: EVAx000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
NAS: ReadyNAS Pro RNDP6610
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 3rd, 2009, 07:20 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: - those annoying blue lights

Quote:
Originally Posted by beisser View Post
err.. the 3500 does not have a blue cirgle area..

and with newer routers the button in the back turns the whole device off, not just the knight rider leds.
I guess 3300 had circle..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 10th, 2009, 11:44 AM
PGHammer PGHammer is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
PGHammer is on a distinguished road
Default Re: - those annoying blue lights

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfcphil View Post
I have the WNR3500 and I do not have a button at the back of mine
The button on the WNR3500 is *above* the red recessed FACTORY RESET button, and is not labeled.

(NOTE: RangeMax and RangeMax NEXT routers are designed to stand "on end" for best wireless performance; therefore, they should not be laid flat!)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:19 AM.