Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 28th, 2009, 07:05 AM
Robbyb Robbyb is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Robbyb is on a distinguished road
Default Can I make WGR614 Router a Switch

I am currently running DSL and use a WGR614 v5 Wireless network for my network.

I will soon be moving to Cable and my provider will give me a Motorola Cable modem with wireless router. The Motorola wireless router can connect to a switch.

So I'd like use my WGR614 as a Switch, is there a way to do that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 28th, 2009, 07:07 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,282
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can I make WGR614 Router a Switch

WRONG AREA
MOVING TO Super-G (108 Mbps) & 802.11g (54 Mbps) Routers

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 28th, 2009, 07:30 AM
Robbyb Robbyb is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Robbyb is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can I make WGR614 Router a Switch

Thank you June, but I don't think that is what I'm trying to accomplish. The cable modem does not have any "wired" connections, it can only be wired to a single computer or a Switch.

1. I would like to use the new Wireless Cable Modem for wireless connections.
2. I would like the WGR614 to act as a "Switch" for my wired connections.

Since the Cable Modem can only be wired to a Switch for wired connections, is there any way to configure my WGR614 to simply be a Switch?

Thank you,
Robby
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 28th, 2009, 07:36 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,282
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can I make WGR614 Router a Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbyb View Post
Thank you June, but I don't think that is what I'm trying to accomplish. The cable modem does not have any "wired" connections, it can only be wired to a single computer or a Switch.

1. I would like to use the new Wireless Cable Modem for wireless connections.
2. I would like the WGR614 to act as a "Switch" for my wired connections.

Since the Cable Modem can only be wired to a Switch for wired connections, is there any way to configure my WGR614 to simply be a Switch?

Thank you,
Robby
same thing .. except you turn the wireless off on WGR...
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:01 AM.