#1  
Old May 20th, 2009, 07:08 AM
awdrifter awdrifter is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
awdrifter is on a distinguished road
Question Is it possible to run VPN from a WNR2000?

Hi, I'm currently using an VPN service, but I can only log in from one computer at a time. Is there a way to run the VPN service on my router (WNR2000) so all the computers on my LAN will access the net through the VPN connection? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 20th, 2009, 01:04 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is it possible to run VPN from a WNR2000?

ONLY one pc at a time
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 20th, 2009, 04:07 PM
awdrifter awdrifter is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
awdrifter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it possible to run VPN from a WNR2000?

Ok, thanks. Are there any custom firmware that'll allow me to do it (VPN for all comps)? I've found a custom firmware for a WGR614 on another forum, but not for the WNR2000.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 20th, 2009, 04:33 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is it possible to run VPN from a WNR2000?

Quote:
Originally Posted by awdrifter View Post
Ok, thanks. Are there any custom firmware that'll allow me to do it (VPN for all comps)? I've found a custom firmware for a WGR614 on another forum, but not for the WNR2000.
check DD-WRT but last time I did, it did not
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 21st, 2009, 08:19 PM
awdrifter awdrifter is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
awdrifter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it possible to run VPN from a WNR2000?

Are there any Netgear N routers that can do it out of the box? I guess I shouldn't have sold my WRG614.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 21st, 2009, 10:12 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is it possible to run VPN from a WNR2000?

Quote:
Originally Posted by awdrifter View Post
Are there any Netgear N routers that can do it out of the box? I guess I shouldn't have sold my WRG614.
WGR handle multiple VPN passthrough is what you are stating?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 22nd, 2009, 05:56 PM
awdrifter awdrifter is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
awdrifter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it possible to run VPN from a WNR2000?

No, I'm looking for a router that has a VPN login built-in, so I can log into the VPN service right on the router, then all my computers connected to it will go through the VPN connection.

Something like this, but a Netgear router.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 22nd, 2009, 06:01 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is it possible to run VPN from a WNR2000?

buy model that support DD-WRT
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 22nd, 2009, 07:22 PM
awdrifter awdrifter is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
awdrifter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is it possible to run VPN from a WNR2000?

Thanks, I guess I'll have to go for the WNR3300.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 4th, 2010, 06:01 AM
HerbCSO HerbCSO is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
HerbCSO is on a distinguished road
Talking Re: Is it possible to run VPN from a WNR2000?

Looks like the DD-WRT firmware has been updated just yesterday to support this router as well. See http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtop...72269&start=30
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:25 AM.