Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Enterprise/Business Products > Firewall / VPN Devices > VPN Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 24th, 2009, 11:41 AM
stannes stannes is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
stannes is on a distinguished road
Default DGFV338 ethernet WAN to ADSL 2+ router

Dear All,

I have an ADSL 2+ router with a static external IP address.

As the firewall behind the router is not working at present, I need to put another firewall in it's place.

Would it be possible to use the 10/100 Ethernet WAN port on the DGFV338 - give this port an external IP address, and route upstream via the ADSL 2+ router?

The Ethernet WAN settings seem to require a username/password - but it's not the Netgear that will be doing the ISP connection, just routing traffic upstream to the ADSL 2+ router

Can I set this up, if so how?

Thanks in advance

Michael Smart
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 24th, 2009, 12:48 PM
adit's Avatar
adit adit is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,235
adit is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGFV338 ethernet WAN to ADSL 2+ router

Just leave the fields empty, it will work just like any other router. Just answer No where it asks if your connection requires a login.

http://interface.netgear-forum.com/D...wan2_setup.htm
__________________
.
Forum Rules - Post Screenshots on ImageShack for Free - Firmware Upgrade Procedure
.
Online Subnet Calculator - LAN Subnets NOT to Use - SA Lifetime Guidelines - Hex/IP Converter
.
Free Netgear Support Online Trouble Ticket Submissions 1-888-NETGEAR 4,3 Netgear Knowledge Base
.
VPN Router Support, Interface Demos,and Marketing Pages:
.
SRX5308 S M - FVS336G S I I M - FVS318G S M - FVS318N S M - FVS338 S I I M - SRXN3205 S M -
VPNG01/5L S M - FVS318 S I I M - DGFV338B S I M - FVG318 S I I M - SSL312 S I M - FVX538 S I I
.
FVS114 - FVS124G - FVS328 - FVL328 - FWG114P - GPL Firmware Code - MyOpenRouter - VPNC Docs
.
Click Here for my VPN Client and Mode Config VPN Client Tutorials
.
ProSecure STM/UTM Appliance User Forum - Prosecure Marketing Website
.
.
Good Luck...ADIT

FYI - I am a Reseller and not employed by Netgear
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 24th, 2009, 02:00 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,009
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGFV338 ethernet WAN to ADSL 2+ router

[QUOTE=stannes;192142]

The Ethernet WAN settings seem to require a username/password - but it's not the Netgear that will be doing the ISP connection, just routing traffic upstream to the ADSL 2+ router
/QUOTE]

Static route from your you DSL modem or disable NAT on your DSL modem, consult your DSL modem/router manual
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 25th, 2009, 04:43 AM
stannes stannes is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 18
stannes is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGFV338 ethernet WAN to ADSL 2+ router

Hi - thanks for replying - I just popped the IP, subnet and gateway and dns into the field on the Ethernet WAN tab, this greys out the other fields.
All working OK! Thanks!

Just for anyone who later reads this thread - if you do vpn over this connection, remember to change the bullet from ADSL to Ethernet for which connection that the vpn runs over - bit obviously really but if you are used to using the ADSL connection it's easy to overlook that when you create a new vpn it defaults to ADSL on both tabs

Thanks for your help

Michael
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:31 PM.