#1  
Old July 4th, 2009, 01:28 AM
Lego1's Avatar
Lego1 Lego1 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Lego1 is on a distinguished road
Question DSL Setting for Verizon using combo router/modem

I've been trying unsuccesfully to setup my new Netgear DGND3300 router/dsl modem with my Verizon DSL ISP. Router indicates DSL link connection (according to the router front panel), but I don't have internet connection. I'm replacing a Westell 6100 modem (provided by verizon) and Netgear WGT634U router; so I copied the settings from the modem but so far no luck, and Verizon tek support were not able to help me out.
I know Verizon uses PPPoE for the the Atlantic markets, however,I lived the West market and verizon uses DHCP (It supposed to be simplier)
Does anyone knows the DHCP DSL settings for verizon using any netgear combo Router/DSL modem? Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 4th, 2009, 09:27 AM
Lego1's Avatar
Lego1 Lego1 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Lego1 is on a distinguished road
Arrow DSL Setting for Verizon using combo router/modem (DGND3300)

- Addemdum
Here are the Basic DSL setting for Netgear DGND3300:


Router Status

Account Name
Firmware Version V1.1.00.22_1.00.22NA (most current)

----------------------------------------
ADSL Port
MAC Address 00:24:B2:2E:F1:F5
IP Address ---
Network Type DHCP Client
IP Subnet Mask ---
Gateway IP Address ---
Domain Name Server ---

(I also tried Settings copied from Westell modem provided by verizon)
ADSL Port
MAC Address 00:24:B2:2E:F1:F5
IP Address 71.107.87.51
Network Type Static IP
IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway IP Address 71.107.87.1
Domain Name Server 68.238.64.12
68.238.96.12

--------------------------------------------
LAN Port
MAC Address 00:24:B2:2E:F1:F4
IP Address 192.168.3.1
DHCP On
IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

--------------------------------------------
Modem
ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023k.d20k_rc2
Modem Status Connected
DownStream Connection Speed 864 kbps
UpStream Connection Speed 160 kbps
VPI 0
VCI 35

--------------------------------------------
On ADSL Settings, Which Multiplexing Method should I choose LLC-BASED or VC-BASED?

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 4th, 2009, 09:57 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: DSL Setting for Verizon using combo router/modem

ring a bell to a support if they have some trick for settings (DSL settings).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 5th, 2009, 07:16 PM
Lego1's Avatar
Lego1 Lego1 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Lego1 is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: DSL Setting for Verizon using combo router/modem

After an intensive hours of troubleshooting and ready to give up and return DGND3300 to the store I was able to make it work.
For those of you that would like to know the Basic settings for Verizon DSL (Western market only) using DHCP (Eastern/Atlantic markets uses PPPoE, reuires A Login) and a Netgear DSL Modem/Router

Here is what I did: (Assuming the Modem Status is connected or DSL light at the front panel is steady green)

1. Configure Basic Settings (preferably Manually)
- Require A Login: NO
- Network Type: DHCP Client
- Account Name (If Required) Leave Blank
- Domain Name (If Required) Leave Blank
- Internet IP Address: Get Dynamically From ISP
- Domain Name Server (DNS) Address: Get Automatically From ISP
- NAT (Network Address Translation): Enable
- Router MAC Address: Use Default Address
ADSL Port Setting
- Multiplexing Method: LLC-BASED (I don't know the differences)
- VPI: 0
- VCI: 35

Apply or Save settings.

2. If you have a previous Verizon DSL modem then Call Verizon Tek support
Request to Clear old MAC address settings (Some Verizon Teks are more knowledgeable than others, so don't give up so easily if they say that settings can not be clear, or if they say they don't support third party modems, you are requesting to Clear the MAC settings, not help to configure your netgear modem)
Confirm that the settings are cleared with tek, then thank Verizon Tek and good bye.

3. Check Router Status every 10 minutes.
It took my router about 2 hours to finally get IP address and DNS sever from Verizon. So have patience

A note: I'm disappointed with the quality of Technical support from Netgear part; when we were a third conference (Verizon Tek, Netgear Tek and I), Two Netgear teks claimed that DGND3300 was not made for verizon DHCP purposes. Well it's working now. Great modem, bad tek support.

I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 5th, 2009, 01:53 PM
djvincewest djvincewest is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
djvincewest is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DSL Setting for Verizon using combo router/modem

It worked. I did as you said and It works! Im so happy because these Netgear Customer Service Reps couldnt help me. All I did was copy your settings and waited for about 1 hour and it picked up the IP address. I didnt have to call Verizon to reset my mac address. Thank you for your help. I was about to return it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 6th, 2009, 07:59 AM
Lego1's Avatar
Lego1 Lego1 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Lego1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DSL Setting for Verizon using combo router/modem

Good to know I don't have to call Verizon to clear the MAC address settings.
Definitely I'm so glad to know that I was able to help someone!

Lego



Quote:
Originally Posted by djvincewest View Post
It worked. I did as you said and It works! Im so happy because these Netgear Customer Service Reps couldnt help me. All I did was copy your settings and waited for about 1 hour and it picked up the IP address. I didnt have to call Verizon to reset my mac address. Thank you for your help. I was about to return it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 15th, 2009, 07:01 PM
Viper5zero Viper5zero is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Viper5zero is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DSL Setting for Verizon using combo router/modem

Dude.... You rock!! I wish I would have found your thread about an hour sooner and it would have been even better.

All I did was copy the mac from the router they sent me and SNAP - GREEN LIGHT!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 4th, 2011, 05:14 AM
macaframa macaframa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
macaframa is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DSL Setting for Verizon using combo router/modem

I would have been lost without your instructions. THANKS.

NOTE: I called tech support and they absolutely refused to remove the MAC Address of my old Westell modem. I copied the MAC from the westell and... BAM my DGND3300 locked right up to the internet. Loving it ever since.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Lego1 View Post
After an intensive hours of troubleshooting and ready to give up and return DGND3300 to the store I was able to make it work.
For those of you that would like to know the Basic settings for Verizon DSL (Western market only) using DHCP (Eastern/Atlantic markets uses PPPoE, reuires A Login) and a Netgear DSL Modem/Router

Here is what I did: (Assuming the Modem Status is connected or DSL light at the front panel is steady green)

1. Configure Basic Settings (preferably Manually)
- Require A Login: NO
- Network Type: DHCP Client
- Account Name (If Required) Leave Blank
- Domain Name (If Required) Leave Blank
- Internet IP Address: Get Dynamically From ISP
- Domain Name Server (DNS) Address: Get Automatically From ISP
- NAT (Network Address Translation): Enable
- Router MAC Address: Use Default Address
ADSL Port Setting
- Multiplexing Method: LLC-BASED (I don't know the differences)
- VPI: 0
- VCI: 35

Apply or Save settings.

2. If you have a previous Verizon DSL modem then Call Verizon Tek support
Request to Clear old MAC address settings (Some Verizon Teks are more knowledgeable than others, so don't give up so easily if they say that settings can not be clear, or if they say they don't support third party modems, you are requesting to Clear the MAC settings, not help to configure your netgear modem)
Confirm that the settings are cleared with tek, then thank Verizon Tek and good bye.

3. Check Router Status every 10 minutes.
It took my router about 2 hours to finally get IP address and DNS sever from Verizon. So have patience

A note: I'm disappointed with the quality of Technical support from Netgear part; when we were a third conference (Verizon Tek, Netgear Tek and I), Two Netgear teks claimed that DGND3300 was not made for verizon DHCP purposes. Well it's working now. Great modem, bad tek support.

I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:17 PM.