#1  
Old August 14th, 2009, 07:50 PM
guilhermem guilhermem is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
guilhermem is on a distinguished road
Thumbs down WNDA3100 and Windows 7 RTM

Can't find a driver that works on Windows 7.

I do work for Microsoft and have access to Windows 7 RTM.

Why netgear is so slow with driver releases? It's a brand new adapter and it does not work with the new Windows. Not even RC worked.

Very disapointing... I should have purchased DLink....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 14th, 2009, 10:14 PM
guilhermem guilhermem is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
guilhermem is on a distinguished road
Cool Re: WNDA3100 and Windows 7 RTM

I've found a way to make it work.

1. Download the WNDA3100 v1 software from Netgear
2. Boot Win7 pressing F8 and disable select the disable driver signature option
3. Install the terrible bloated driver from Netgear. Say yes when it asks to install.
4. Go to your device manager and select the WLAN USB 2 device, choose update driver and select a browse my cromputer for driver.
5. Select let me pick from drivers on my computer.
6. Select Netgear and then the driver.
7. It won't work initially. Go to the properties of the failed device and click update driver again
8. This time select search automatically for updated driver. You'll have to be connected to the internet using another working wireless or wired adapter.
9. Windows will download a working version of the driver for you.
10. Now your WNDA3100 will work.


Thanks Netgear for not shipping the driver.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 15th, 2009, 09:22 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNDA3100 and Windows 7 RTM

Quote:
Thanks Netgear for not shipping the driver.
How netgear will put driver for WIN7 in the current CD ? RETAIL Win7 it's not even out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 15th, 2009, 04:10 PM
guilhermem guilhermem is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
guilhermem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDA3100 and Windows 7 RTM

Did I mentioned CD?

Shipping a driver can be done online FYI, look at Nvidia.

Any descent company would develop and test their drivers with RC and beta versions of Windows.

Geez, even Asus does that.

Big no no for Netgear. And I purchased it thinking that Netgear was up to date with the market... Big mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 15th, 2009, 04:20 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNDA3100 and Windows 7 RTM

Quote:
Thanks Netgear for not shipping the driver.
maybe you should rephrase that...


Quote:
Shipping a driver can be done online FYI, look at Nvidia.
I don't use "shipping a driver" in my terminology but that's okay.

eventually it will be out so wait and complain support. useless to arguing here since support will not monitor as much as your think...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 1st, 2009, 02:23 PM
ton211 ton211 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
ton211 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDA3100 and Windows 7 RTM

(Found on the Sevenforums.com)
Netgear WNDA3100 doesn't work (NOW IT DOES!!!) Thanks to Kevin H!!

This worked for me on a 32-bit windows 7 machine! (but it also seems to work on 64-bit)______________________________________________ _______________
Go here for more info: http://wnda310064bit.webs.com/
__________________________________________________ ____________

Hi guys, my brother found a little work around to get wnda3100 working on 64bit computers, it works 100%! So all credit goes to Kevin H. If you post this on another forum, give Kevin H the credit! Thanks! Or if you post it anywhere else on the internet, give Kevin H the credit!

Make sure to install wnda3100 software first without driver!
Also, this is only been tested in windows 7 64bit! Please use at your own risk, we are not responsible for anything that goes wrong, but it 100% works!

In order to do this go into device manager, and find your wlan 2.0 usb that isn't recognized in your computer! Download the files that I'll give you and manually install them! Heres how:
1. Make sure wnda3100 is plugged in
2. Go to Device Manager
3. Download these files and unzip:
http://mcbeaner.pbworks.com/browse/#...param=WNDA3100

The files are under wnda3100 folder!
4. Right Click wlan 2.0 usb device (Something like that)
5. Then click update driver
6. Then click browse my computer for driver software
7. Then click let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
8. Choose "network adapters" for what type of device this is on the next screen
9. Then on the next screen, click have disk
10. Then click browse!
11. Go to the files you downloaded
12. Install this .inf file:
arusb_lh.inf
13. Click ok, then ok again
14. Then let the device driver install, then search for networks!
Your Done!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 27th, 2009, 01:30 AM
mamaskar mamaskar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
mamaskar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDA3100 and Windows 7 RTM

I tried to follow the tips/suggestions on this trial without success using Windows7-Pro for 64-bit. When will Netgear provide a solution? If there is not commitment from NetGear to resolve it then I will simply return both router and adapter...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 27th, 2009, 08:36 PM
Udo_Andreas Udo_Andreas is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 9
Udo_Andreas is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDA3100 and Windows 7 RTM

Still there is no official driver for Vista Ultimate x64. I asked for this driver more then 12 months ago.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 3rd, 2010, 11:10 PM
onlyonepost onlyonepost is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
onlyonepost is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDA3100 and Windows 7 RTM

dosent work on W7 64 bit. netgear is not interestet in fixing this problem, because the want to sell new adapters.

they dont give a S*** about us !

Im on my way to the shop now, get my money back and buy a diffrent brand.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:30 AM.