#1  
Old August 27th, 2009, 02:24 AM
matty13 matty13 is offline
Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 83
matty13 is on a distinguished road
Default Bandwidth Control, Uplink bandwidth

What does this option do? it doesn't explain it in the help on the right? if i pop in my upload speed does it mean it won't let 1 pc hog all the upload and leave some to the other computers automatically?

Is it also seperate to QoS as its underneeth the turn on qos.

thanks,
matt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 27th, 2009, 03:38 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,507
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bandwidth Control, Uplink bandwidth

It might help if you gave us a clue which router you have
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 27th, 2009, 04:23 AM
matty13 matty13 is offline
Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 83
matty13 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bandwidth Control, Uplink bandwidth

Sorry, im using the WNR2000

Thanks
matt.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 27th, 2009, 04:48 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,507
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bandwidth Control, Uplink bandwidth

Even the manual lacks any clues.

Since most Internet connections, cable or DSL, have an upload bandwidth which is a fraction of the download bandwidth it is important to make sure you don't saturate your connection be any one application taking all the upload bandwidth. Once you saturate the upload you will find that downloads also become sluggish or even grind to a halt because data packets requiring acknowledgement on download have that Ack delayed.

I donít know how that single upload parameter is shared between all applications requiring QoS?
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 27th, 2009, 05:19 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Bandwidth Control, Uplink bandwidth

QoS will not cut the bandwidth rather prioritizes the need of which application or ports etc that had priority

higher priority makes any request to run those higher than other that is set in the router.

you can not say out of 6Mbps, I want 3Mbps for Xbox and 3 for rest. Does not work like that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 27th, 2009, 05:25 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,507
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bandwidth Control, Uplink bandwidth

You can set an upload limit in Kbits/sec, how is that subdivided?
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 27th, 2009, 05:38 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Bandwidth Control, Uplink bandwidth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars Mug View Post
You can set an upload limit in Kbits/sec, how is that subdivided?
not all has same way I just looked my WNR2000 and looks you this one you can..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 27th, 2009, 02:09 PM
matty13 matty13 is offline
Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 83
matty13 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bandwidth Control, Uplink bandwidth

So if i set the upload to mine, 768kbps, it will make sure 1 computer on the network doesn't fill up the whole upload bandwidth and make sure it is shared out? that right? or not?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 27th, 2009, 02:23 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,507
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bandwidth Control, Uplink bandwidth

Iím guessing that if your upload cap is significantly higher than 768 Kbps (mine is 720 Kbps on a 20 Mbps download connection) then this setting will stop the connection from being hogged. But like I say, I donít know how that value is shared, or if itís a Ďper-applicationí value. The manual isnít clear at all and the side panel help isnít much help either. Not exactly helping am I?
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 27th, 2009, 03:59 PM
matty13 matty13 is offline
Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 83
matty13 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bandwidth Control, Uplink bandwidth

I know what you mean like it may stop it from been hogged, but your not sure how it does it by. Netgear doesn't explain it very well i know its not in the help on the right either.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:18 PM.