Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 3rd, 2009, 01:37 PM
mbnz230 mbnz230 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
mbnz230 is on a distinguished road
Default Firmware hack/upgrade to anything other than netgear

i have a wpnt834 router that it just die. the lan ethernet ports still work but the wireless is not. so i am wondering if you can upload some other firmware to see if it will work. i already up graded the factory firmware to the most recent one V1.0_51 NA and its the same. the blue wireless light is not flashing, its just on, when its working it should be flashing.

I even took it apart but everything looks to be ok, nothing's burnt inside, no funny smells.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 3rd, 2009, 01:48 PM
mbnz230 mbnz230 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
mbnz230 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Firmware hack/upgrade to anything other than netgear


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 3rd, 2009, 05:11 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,006
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Firmware hack/upgrade to anything other than netgear

you can not load up other firmware to work when there will be hardware failure

usually when hadware fails, router interface will either disappear with wireless setting or simply does not broad cast the signale

I would try different power supply before I called fault unit


WRONG AREA

MOVING TO RANGEMAX ROUTERS
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 3rd, 2009, 06:59 PM
mbnz230 mbnz230 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
mbnz230 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Firmware hack/upgrade to anything other than netgear

I guess this one goes to the trash then. some how the wpnt121 adaptor is also not working as well. no more net gear stuff for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 3rd, 2009, 07:06 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,006
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Firmware hack/upgrade to anything other than netgear

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbnz230 View Post
I guess this one goes to the trash then. some how the wpnt121 adaptor is also not working as well. no more net gear stuff for me.
don't blame manufacture on products that goes bad after used specially use for long time.

any improper protection to the unit without Backup UPS will reduce over some surge protector...

there is not way to control how each uses and how environmental cause issues
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 3rd, 2009, 10:17 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,398
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Firmware hack/upgrade to anything other than netgear

Are you absolutely sure that wireless is dead, it only flashes if there is any activity? I would check with another wireless PC before trashing the router.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 5th, 2009, 02:03 PM
mbnz230 mbnz230 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8
mbnz230 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Firmware hack/upgrade to anything other than netgear

i already tried on different computers no signal on everyone of them. i already bought a new rosewill router as a replacement, it will be here on Tuesday.

somehow the LAN still works on the netgear router, i am still using it now, it is just not broadcasting the wireless signal. the light is always on and do not flash. i think it's either firmware related or it is toast. well just the wireless part.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 5th, 2009, 02:21 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,006
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Firmware hack/upgrade to anything other than netgear

more likely hardware failure and/or poor power supply can cause issues.
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 6th, 2009, 04:32 PM
jman1982 jman1982 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
jman1982 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Firmware hack/upgrade to anything other than netgear

First off, why so much hassle to setup an account to post on this forum? This isn't the FBI, just a NETGEAR forum....

Secondly, I'm having the same issue and have always had issues with this WPNT834 wireless. Ever since I got it, it's been flakey. I have always had it plugged into an APC UPS, which is plugged into a Tripp-Lite surge unit. Now the wireless is just completely dead, I used to be able to change settings around...like apply security and then remove it and it would start working....but not anymore.

Pretty frustrating, I have other wireless units which have latest twice as long....even without surge protection. I've also read of alot of other users having the same issues with this wireless router.

It's obviously a firmware issue, or faulty hardware...in any case it should be acknowledged by Netgear.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 6th, 2009, 05:12 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,006
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Firmware hack/upgrade to anything other than netgear

Quote:
Originally Posted by jman1982 View Post
First off, why so much hassle to setup an account to post on this forum? This isn't the FBI, just a NETGEAR forum....

Secondly, I'm having the same issue and have always had issues with this WPNT834 wireless. Ever since I got it, it's been flakey. I have always had it plugged into an APC UPS, which is plugged into a Tripp-Lite surge unit. Now the wireless is just completely dead, I used to be able to change settings around...like apply security and then remove it and it would start working....but not anymore.

Pretty frustrating, I have other wireless units which have latest twice as long....even without surge protection. I've also read of alot of other users having the same issues with this wireless router.

It's obviously a firmware issue, or faulty hardware...in any case it should be acknowledged by Netgear.
IN RED.. not too many complains so it will be just you

IN BLUE... just because you have backup UPS with the device means it will never break nor there will be way to compare one runs better or not. Any electronic devices goes out in many reason. Worn out component, some have used different PCB components with quality level may cause issues (usually seen in blown cap ).
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:45 AM.