#1  
Old September 13th, 2009, 10:42 PM
Gargam Gargam is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Gargam is on a distinguished road
Default FVS338 throughput

I have a poor performance in my FVS338.

With ftp i can only get about 12Mbit/sec
And when i do a tptest i get:

Send: 37Mbit/sec
Receive: 36Mbit/sec

I got a 100/100Mbit/sec fiber and without any firewall i get over 90+Mbit/sec

I thought this wall had a pritty good throughtput but...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 14th, 2009, 05:20 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: FVS338 throughput

is it only in FTP? or general WAN throughput if you check with speakeasy.net or any other broaband speed test?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 15th, 2009, 01:14 AM
Gargam Gargam is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Gargam is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS338 throughput

I used http://www.bredbandskollen.se/ i live in sweden.

If i use speakeasy.net whos far far from me i get 9Mbit/sec both directions.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 15th, 2009, 05:01 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: FVS338 throughput



with this, you get 90Mbps speed? and only 37Mbps on FTP. did you tweak FTP server?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 15th, 2009, 04:33 PM
KWheelerAZ's Avatar
KWheelerAZ KWheelerAZ is offline
Moderator
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 735
KWheelerAZ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS338 throughput

Gargam, check me if I'm wrong but doesn't FTP send a lot of ACK and SYN traffic back to the host? I was thinking HTTP might be a better protocol to use. Can you try an HTTP download and check the speed?

FYI - yes, the FVS338 is rated at 90Mbps LAN-to-WAN throughput on it's data sheet but remember that's outbound without any SPI filtering. The inbound traffic is subject to SPI filtering which will cut the throughput by a little ... perhaps quite a little depending on how many rules you have.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 15th, 2009, 06:00 PM
adit's Avatar
adit adit is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,309
adit is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS338 throughput

actually 75Mbps....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 16th, 2009, 03:41 AM
Gargam Gargam is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Gargam is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS338 throughput

I get under 40Mbit/sec LAN-to-WAN throughput.

When i toss away the FVS338 and puts a computer directly to the internet then i get over 90Mbit/sec

Yes KWheelerAZ, and the FTP am mentioning is my ftp behind the firewall.
Where ppl uploads stuff to.

So i have put up a "LAN WAN Inbound Service" that points "FTP tcp21" to a server.

I realy hoped the firewall could do better then a 40Mbit throughput LAN-to-WAN and an inbound service of 10Mbit.

-------------------

Right after i typed LAN WAN Inbound service i got an idea.
Made a new "Custom Services Table" FTP2 with tcp21 with "Maximize-Throughtput".

Then i get a lil better performance and almost gets 10-20Mbit and it waries lots.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:10 PM.