#1  
Old September 22nd, 2009, 05:04 PM
AiRaTtAcK111 AiRaTtAcK111 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
AiRaTtAcK111 is on a distinguished road
Default WNR2000 Range

We've had this router for about 5 months now, the range is worse than the 5 year old netgear router we used to have. The router and modem are in one room of the house, then my macbook pro is in my room on the other side of the house. I can barely even get a signal with it, when it does work it's insanely slow and usually looses the connection after a few minutes.


halp?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 22nd, 2009, 05:07 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000 Range

you got huge 10000sq/ft house or what.

distance will be good. and more details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 22nd, 2009, 05:07 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000 Range

Wrong area
moving to rangemax next routers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 22nd, 2009, 05:31 PM
AiRaTtAcK111 AiRaTtAcK111 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
AiRaTtAcK111 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 Range

I'm not sure on square footage... somewhere around 2000 sq/ft

The computer is probably 200-400ft away from the router. I get a maximum of 2 bars in my room, usually 1 or 0 though. Right now I'm near the router, all bars lit up, but the internet is still slow as hell, doesn't stream videos very well, and takes forever to load google. If I plug the laptop straight to the ethernet cord, it's fast as hell.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 22nd, 2009, 05:40 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000 Range

ain't gonna work unless you got line a sight.. I say for most n router. two digits around 30ft are good measure. since I have wnr200 and test with WN111
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 22nd, 2009, 05:43 PM
AiRaTtAcK111 AiRaTtAcK111 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
AiRaTtAcK111 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 Range

I just don't understand how a much newer router, gets less performance than the old netgear router we had. And I'm sure the mac has a better wireless card than my old pc laptop did.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 22nd, 2009, 05:56 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNR2000 Range

Quote:
Originally Posted by AiRaTtAcK111 View Post
I just don't understand how a much newer router, gets less performance than the old netgear router we had. And I'm sure the mac has a better wireless card than my old pc laptop did.
assumption are never good.

which mac you have. look under finder>utilites>network utility

in the first tab windows, there is etho, etho01 etc. when choose the right you will see the wireless adapter, IP, type of wireless protocol supported.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 22nd, 2009, 10:26 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,499
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 Range

Quote:
Originally Posted by AiRaTtAcK111 View Post
I'm not sure on square footage... somewhere around 2000 sq/ft

The computer is probably 200-400ft away from the router.
200-400ft is a huge spread (a poor estimate) and makes your house a strange shape, for a single floor that would be 200ft long by 10ft wide, or 400ft long by 5ft wide. And are we assuming direct line of sight i.e. no walls between the router and PC. I would not normally be so picky, but those details matter.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 23rd, 2009, 09:40 AM
AiRaTtAcK111 AiRaTtAcK111 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
AiRaTtAcK111 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 Range

I'm not sure on feet, 200 sounds about right though. There are walls blocking it, it travels through one room, the kitchen, the living room, to my room.

I have the unibody macbook pro. If I got the netgear wireless card would it work better? Or should I look into just getting a better router?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 23rd, 2009, 11:05 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,499
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR2000 Range

200 feet through three walls is pushing it even for a MiMo router.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:59 PM.