#1  
Old October 12th, 2009, 12:50 AM
erskine erskine is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
erskine is on a distinguished road
Default Is There a Mac recovery Utility?

I have read this post for using the recovery utility on a PC. However, I need to be able to restore factory settings but using a Mac. Does anyone know if there is a utility for this or if it is done simply by accessing through a browser?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 12th, 2009, 01:09 AM
fihart's Avatar
fihart fihart is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,191
fihart is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is There a Mac recovery Utility?

If you mean is there an Apple version of the Router Firmware Recovery Utility the answer is, I believe, no.

If you want to reset to factory settings, use the reset button.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 12th, 2009, 03:19 AM
erskine erskine is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
erskine is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is There a Mac recovery Utility?

Apologies but I missed the link:

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/263

Couldn't edit as the board is moderated.

Many thanks, I'll have a go at that. Any idea what the browser address is?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 12th, 2009, 04:04 AM
fihart's Avatar
fihart fihart is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,191
fihart is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is There a Mac recovery Utility?

If your question is, where's the reset button -- the answer is on the hardware. See panel where sockets are and beneath a pinhole is the reset switch. This wipes settings you made using the router's setup pages.

It may be a good idea to download the router manual as you aren't making it all that clear what your objective is or what problem may be.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 12th, 2009, 05:45 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is There a Mac recovery Utility?

simple.. YOU NEED PC BASE to fix your router period

if you don't run VMWARE, PARALLEL on your Mac, you are SOL.. borrow PC laptop and fix with recovery tool.

other choices to use "unbrick WGR614"(see stickies) which you can use Mac version TFTP (google it)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 12th, 2009, 06:56 AM
erskine erskine is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
erskine is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is There a Mac recovery Utility?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fihart View Post
If your question is, where's the reset button -- the answer is on the hardware. See panel where sockets are and beneath a pinhole is the reset switch. This wipes settings you made using the router's setup pages.

It may be a good idea to download the router manual as you aren't making it all that clear what your objective is or what problem may be.
Sorry, this is an old Sky router that my daughter has had since she moved across to O2 years ago. I am having problems with my internet connection and want to check if my Speedtouch may be the cause. However, I need to reset the Netgear to allow me to use my own ISP settings.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 12th, 2009, 12:01 PM
fihart's Avatar
fihart fihart is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,191
fihart is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is There a Mac recovery Utility?

Suggest you visit www.skyuser.co.uk which has tutorial on wiping Sky firmware using the DG Recovery Utility in order to install Netgear or 3rd party firmware.

It must be done on a PC with XP (Vista can cause problems I think) and it can be fussy about Network Interface Connector boards. Otherwise it's pretty straightforward -- you'll see when the firmware has changed (aside from the version number of course) because the screens are subtly different. Note the option to Reset to Factory Defaults -- you must do this after reflashing firnmware (or press the reset button).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 24th, 2009, 03:44 AM
ZoeStollery ZoeStollery is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
ZoeStollery is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is There a Mac recovery Utility?

If you are well Mac user having a lot of experience about the Mac files you can restore the factory setting otherwise you may lost your data forever by clicking any wrong button however if you lost no need to worry just use a recommended recovery utility or Stellar Phoenix Mac Recovery software which can work for you incase you lost your data otherwise no need of using this tool..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 24th, 2009, 05:13 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Is There a Mac recovery Utility?

stellar is data recovery app and not able to recover a router's firmware corruption
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 24th, 2009, 06:45 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,614
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Is There a Mac recovery Utility?

I think there was some confusion in the post by ZoeStollery between recovering files on a MAC computer, and the router recovery tool, which are two quite different things.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:30 AM.