Old October 20th, 2009, 06:46 PM

AssetHound is on a distinguished road
Default Connecting to 5GHz

OK. I have separate SSIDs and passwords for 2.4 and 5.0 set up. My laptop can only see the 2.4 and will connect to it just fine. I have a wireless profile set up on the laptop for the 5.0 but it doesn't show up on the list of available networks and I can't connect to it. I'm new to wireless.

I'm using XP on a laptop with a Linksys wireless N notebook adapter card (dual band). The router isn't connected to a computer directly. I don't broadcast SSIDs but I've entered the SSID and the adapter card should see it. Everything on the modem is operating correctly (i.e., lights and all).

Shouldn't I see the 5.0 and be able to connect to it?

Thanks.
Old October 20th, 2009, 06:55 PM

jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Connecting to 5GHz

broadcast the SSID and try. some network adapter do not like hide the broadcast the SSID
Old October 20th, 2009, 11:06 PM
NETGEAR Fanatic

Mars Mug is on a distinguished road

A lot of people confuse Wireless ‘N’ with 5GHz.

Wireless ‘N’ will work on both 2.4GHz and 5GHz, and a wireless ‘N’ adaptor or router can be single band (2.4GHz) or dual band (2.4GHz and 5GHz). Perhaps your laptop adaptor is wireless ‘N’ single band 2.4GHz only.

Hiding SSIDs is pointless and leads to problems. Many adaptors will see a ‘blank’ SSID network and list it, some will not, those that will not could lead the users to select an inappropriate channel leading to problems for both of you. Removing the SSID broadcast does not hide the SSID, it can still be seen, and adds nothing at all in security to an already encrypted network.

My name is Andy.

Last edited by Mars Mug; October 20th, 2009 at 11:09 PM.
Old October 21st, 2009, 04:14 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars Mug View Post
A lot of people confuse Wireless N with 5GHz.