#1  
Old March 2nd, 2007, 01:01 AM
rustleg rustleg is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
rustleg is on a distinguished road
Default DG834 how to disable the firewall?

I've searched the knowledgebase and can't find how to disable the firewall. You can delete any entries except the default which blocks all traffic inbound.

I need to do this for my ISP to test my connection, before they will progress my complaint about disconnections. I'm not too happy sitting there with an unprotected system but they don't seem to care.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 2nd, 2007, 05:16 AM
Netgear1-9A-Z's Avatar
Netgear1-9A-Z Netgear1-9A-Z is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,875
Netgear1-9A-Z is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834 how to disable the firewall?

The firewall can be disabled in WAN Setup. It is 'Disable Port Scan and DOS protection'.

You can also disable NAT in 'Basic Settings'.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 6th, 2007, 12:54 AM
rustleg rustleg is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
rustleg is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834 how to disable the firewall?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netgear1-9A-Z View Post
The firewall can be disabled in WAN Setup. It is 'Disable Port Scan and DOS protection'.
Perhaps this could have been better described by Netgear as "Disable Firewall"? Or maybe this isn't quite the same?

Quote:
You can also disable NAT in 'Basic Settings'.
I presume this would be more complicated to do and undo, as I would then have to change the network settings in the PC to use Internet addresses directly?

In any event thanks for the info, much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 6th, 2007, 05:50 AM
witty witty is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 23
witty is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834 how to disable the firewall?

if netgear firewall is on and windows xp firewall is on will it conflict??? i have netgear firewall, turned of xp firewall but i keep gtn a notice sayn my computer is @ risk!!!????
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 6th, 2007, 10:25 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: DG834 how to disable the firewall?

firewall on router will protect incoming but for outgoing you will want to you third party software for outgoing when using IM etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 6th, 2007, 10:32 AM
adagio adagio is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
adagio is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834 how to disable the firewall?

They will not conflict. The Netgear router will not protect you against unauthorised outgoing traffic. The XP firewall will not prevent port scanning or other attacks from outside
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 6th, 2007, 11:35 AM
witty witty is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 23
witty is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834 how to disable the firewall?

so its best to have them both on? or turn of xp firewall and get zone alarm........or is netgear as good as that???
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 6th, 2007, 03:19 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: DG834 how to disable the firewall?

most of your router does the same thing.. its is smart to use third party protection for outgoing.. unless you have Mac..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 10th, 2007, 05:37 AM
konnexion konnexion is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
konnexion is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834 how to disable the firewall?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netgear1-9A-Z View Post
The firewall can be disabled in WAN Setup. It is 'Disable Port Scan and DOS protection'.

You can also disable NAT in 'Basic Settings'.
That doesn't appear to work. What I did was simply add an Inbound Rule that allows all services to the WAN port of my firewall. This gets added above the Default Deny rule so takes precedence.

Ian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 28th, 2010, 08:38 AM
tangie tangie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
tangie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DG834 how to disable the firewall?

Quote:
Originally Posted by konnexion View Post
That doesn't appear to work. What I did was simply add an Inbound Rule that allows all services to the WAN port of my firewall. This gets added above the Default Deny rule so takes precedence.

Ian
I have a Netgear WNR3500 "RangeMax" and I too am trying to gain access from outside->In but when I go to canyouseeme.org and enter port#4125
The error that is returned "Can not see your service"
Thus I want to check and see what my firewall status is on my router?
When I go under WAN setup I do not see 'Disable Port Scan and DOS protection'.

IN reading the manual I see in appendix A Table 2 that:
Inbound (communications coming in from the Internet) Disabled (bars all unsolicited requests except for traffic on port 80, the http port)

Where can I see ths parameter when loged into my router?
And How do I change IT?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:01 PM.