Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 26th, 2010, 10:47 PM
online99 online99 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
online99 is on a distinguished road
Question How to achieve external access through a Davolink DV2020 IAD (modem/router)

Hi all,

How to achieve external access through a Davolink DV2020 from Tele2? Do I need to set a fixed IP address on the Stora?

Thanks, Peter.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 29th, 2010, 07:24 PM
vegimata vegimata is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
vegimata is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to achieve external access through a Davolink DV2020 IAD (modem/router)

You won't need to use a fixed IP address for the stora. You just need to go to www.mystora.com to access it externally. It would then be asking you for the stora name, user name and password.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 1st, 2010, 05:06 AM
online99 online99 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
online99 is on a distinguished road
Post Re: How to achieve external access through a Davolink DV2020 IAD (modem/router)

Tried that, but it doesn't work from the outside. So the question remains open...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 1st, 2010, 06:36 AM
robyb's Avatar
robyb robyb is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,549
robyb is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to achieve external access through a Davolink DV2020 IAD (modem/router)

First, please test that your ports are open. If they are not, use our generic router configuration guide to walk through configuring your router ports:

http://support.stora.hipserv.com/en/...rtforward.html

Cheers,
Roby!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 2nd, 2010, 12:10 AM
online99 online99 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
online99 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to achieve external access through a Davolink DV2020 IAD (modem/router)

Hi Roby, I've put the - dynamic - IP address of the stora in the DMZ Host field of the Davolink IAD. That works. However, if the IP address would change I'll have to reset the address. If the guide you mentioned helps, where can I find it? I once fixed the IP address of the stora and completely lost the connection and had to issue a button reset. Do you have any tips to prevent this? Thanks, Peter.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 3rd, 2010, 09:24 PM
online99 online99 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
online99 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to achieve external access through a Davolink DV2020 IAD (modem/router)

I used address .255 which appears to be reserved for broadcast purposes, so that's the cause for the connection loss I guess. Rgds, Peter.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 8th, 2010, 03:21 AM
online99 online99 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
online99 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to achieve external access through a Davolink DV2020 IAD (modem/router)

I've removed DMZ host and tested it with the tool and all ports remain closed although I've set port triggering in the Davolink for ports 443 and 22. Now port triggering is - according to the manual - not completely the same as port forwarding. Also it seems the Davolink DV2020 does not support NAT loopback so testing from the inside is difficult. Any opinions?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 8th, 2010, 03:41 AM
online99 online99 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
online99 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to achieve external access through a Davolink DV2020 IAD (modem/router)

Roby,
Some more searching and reading revealed that port forwarding in the DV2020 is called Virtual Servers. So I set up two ports (22 and 443) and tested using your tool with success, they are now open. So that should be ok. Now to set the Stora as virtual server I had to enter it's LAN ip address in the DV2020. Does that mean that I should fix the IP address in the Stora as well?
Thanks, Peter.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 8th, 2010, 05:37 AM
gearguy gearguy is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 94
gearguy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to achieve external access through a Davolink DV2020 IAD (modem/router)

@ online99

if the Davolink DV2020 has a feature to reserve the current IP address of the Stora using its MAC address you can use that feature. In this way, even if you reboot your Stora it will use the same IP address.

If Davolink DV2020 dont have that feature, then you can set a Static IP address to the Stora. The IP address that you will statically assign to the Stora is the IP address that you use when you set up port 443 and 22.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 8th, 2010, 05:39 AM
online99 online99 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 35
online99 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to achieve external access through a Davolink DV2020 IAD (modem/router)

Again some more reading done, and found that a fixed ip is really necessary with the DV2020. So set that (.200) and changed the port forward settings accordingly. It still seems to work ok. Now some final questions:
The Stora manual lists a number of ports to be assigned (20, 21, 22, 89 and 443) Most of them are explained or can be found in e.g. Wikipedia, but 89 not. So what's this port for?
Port 80 cannot be forwarded by the DV2020. Does this have any consequences?
Thanks, Peter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:30 PM.