Old February 4th, 2010, 09:28 AM
NETGEAR Newbie

jayjay1122 is on a distinguished road
Default WNR2000 WiFi connection drops!!

Greetings all!!

First an apology: I am a newb to this site but an IT professional for 15 years and I see all the posts about WNR2000 connection problems and (maybe I'll even get booted for this) but all I see back are a lot of questions about adapters and hard resets of routers and not a lot of solutions other than trying an older firmware. So my apology is for 1, starting another post on the topic and 2, for maybe sounding a little gruff right of the bat!

***My wired connection is flawless!!!!!

I am going to provide as much information as is possible about my equipment/situation:

- WNR2000 v1 (Firmware 1.2.3.7)
- Encryption WPA2
- MAC Address filters
- SSID is being broadcast
- Channel is set to Auto
- Mode is 300Mbps

- Dell Laptop (adapter = Intel 4965AGN)
- Ipod Touch
- HTC Droid Eris

The long and short of it is that none of the equipment mentioned above, can seem to maintain a WiFi connection with this router. The cell phone (HTC Eris) is the worst, losing connectivity within 30 seconds, the Ipod touch is second but seems to re-connect on its own and the laptop is last, losing connection within anywhere from 5 to 30 minutes of connecting.

Taking the cell phone and Ipod out of the equation, in order to re-establish connection on the laptop, I need to either reboot it or the router and then connection is ok again until some random interval where the connection times out again.

I have also confirmed that when I lose "data connectivity", the laptop, Ipod and cell phone maintain a strong wifi signal as well as their IP Addresses but all of their MAC ID's have been flushed from the router's "connected devices" table. This router has no configurable aging timer that I am aware of to control the timeout or aging of the MAC Address table.