#1  
Old February 19th, 2010, 05:03 PM
chromeblvd chromeblvd is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
chromeblvd is on a distinguished road
Default routerlogin.net

Hey gang. I'm having a problem logging in to "routerlogin.net" to check my router settings. My caps are off and I'm correctly typing in "password". I haven't changed anything except my www.netgear.com password. I've used my IP address as well. Perhaps I'm missing something here... the routerlogin.net connection popup states...

The server routerlogin.net at NETGEAR WNR834Bv2 requires a username and password.

Warning: This server is requesting that our username and password be sent in an insecure manner (basic authentication without a secure connection).
User Name: admin
Password: password


The reason for checking my settings is I've lost the capability to use the printer, but only from the laptop through the router. It still connects to the internet and it use to print fine. I'm not sure how long it has been down. The pc works fine, prints fine, and connects too.

Any help would be greatful.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 19th, 2010, 05:32 PM
katrinabernardino's Avatar
katrinabernardino katrinabernardino is offline
Moderator
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 631
katrinabernardino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: routerlogin.net

if you cannot remember any passwords to login to the router, there is no other way but to reset the router to factory defaults.. take note that it will erase every router setting..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 19th, 2010, 05:42 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: routerlogin.net

WRONG AREA
MOVING TO RANGEMAX NEXT ROUTERS

See router reset on my sig below
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 19th, 2010, 05:48 PM
chromeblvd chromeblvd is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
chromeblvd is on a distinguished road
Default Re: routerlogin.net

Ok kat. I'm just baffled, I never changed the routerlogin.net username or password. I had it saved in my favorites as well. I can access the netgear.com site - I changed that password today. But I'll keep poking around... Was really hoping the site was down or something before restoring the default username and password.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 19th, 2010, 05:55 PM
katrinabernardino's Avatar
katrinabernardino katrinabernardino is offline
Moderator
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 631
katrinabernardino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: routerlogin.net

as far as i know, there is no reason for admin and password not to work if it wasn't changed.. netgear.com has nothing to do with routerlogin.net.. maybe try using a different computer to login or a different browser..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 19th, 2010, 06:01 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: routerlogin.net

make sure use IE browser to most safetest.
clear all the cache and see.

if the result is same with other Pc. you have no choice but to hard reset
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 19th, 2010, 06:12 PM
chromeblvd chromeblvd is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
chromeblvd is on a distinguished road
Default Re: routerlogin.net

Cleared cashe, deleted temp files, ran ccleaner, using IE brower, used both computers... keep getting 401 Unauthorized Access to this resource is denied; you client has not supplied the correct authentication. I'm close to resetting the router.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 19th, 2010, 06:29 PM
katrinabernardino's Avatar
katrinabernardino katrinabernardino is offline
Moderator
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 631
katrinabernardino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: routerlogin.net

i think the password was changed for some reasons... no other way but to reset the router to factory defaults to be able to use the defaults again.. in your case, if its just the printer not working on your laptop, it may not be necessary to access the router beacuse its been working fine on the other pc
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 19th, 2010, 06:48 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: routerlogin.net

just because other PC work doesn't men printer should work with same wireless settings. That is bit bold statement to me. N mode is backward compatible with 802.11g but that is not always true to all 802.11G adapter to work under N mode.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 19th, 2010, 06:49 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: routerlogin.net

Quote:
Originally Posted by chromeblvd View Post
Cleared cashe, deleted temp files, ran ccleaner, using IE brower, used both computers... keep getting 401 Unauthorized Access to this resource is denied; you client has not supplied the correct authentication. I'm close to resetting the router.
if you did not use WPA2 encryption for your wireless , some one may compromise your network and may have done something.

I would hard reset the router and setup all over again.. quicker solution
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:35 PM.