Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Enterprise/Business Products > Firewall / VPN Devices > Firewall Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old March 8th, 2007, 01:32 AM
GuyAdams's Avatar
GuyAdams GuyAdams is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
GuyAdams is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318 v3 Firmware Upgrade

Keep us posted on your results.

Just as a thought all our FVS318v3's run firmware v3.0_22, never had any issues with this revision firmware.
__________________
Guy Adams

Check out my blog 'Guy Adams on Technology' here (external link)

Forum Rules - Post screenshots for free

VPN Tutorials, Tips & Tricks - ProSafe Firmware Upgrade - Interface Demo's
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 8th, 2007, 01:59 AM
GuyAdams's Avatar
GuyAdams GuyAdams is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
GuyAdams is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318 v3 Firmware Upgrade

Also on the back of your post I have now upgraded one of our test sites FVS318v3 to v3.0_24.

First comments are that its by far the fastest firmware upgrade I have seen on a Netgear router. It was so fast I didnt think it had actually upgraded.

As you mentioned the throughput has slightly increased. I measured around 2 - 2.5 mbps extra WAN to LAN.

I too will keep you posted on the results of the upgrade. Other than the throughput there have been no other notable merits to the upgrade but as I have said, I havent had any issues with v3.0_22 so there wouldnt be.
__________________
Guy Adams

Check out my blog 'Guy Adams on Technology' here (external link)

Forum Rules - Post screenshots for free

VPN Tutorials, Tips & Tricks - ProSafe Firmware Upgrade - Interface Demo's
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 8th, 2007, 04:49 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,057
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318 v3 Firmware Upgrade

You never had internet interupption at all?...
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 8th, 2007, 05:34 AM
GuyAdams's Avatar
GuyAdams GuyAdams is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
GuyAdams is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318 v3 Firmware Upgrade

Yes but only once. I actually believe that was due to a power spike because the phone system also had to be reset afterwards.

Other than that the FVS318v3's we have are absolutley rock solid, I think the 318 is one of Netgears best.
__________________
Guy Adams

Check out my blog 'Guy Adams on Technology' here (external link)

Forum Rules - Post screenshots for free

VPN Tutorials, Tips & Tricks - ProSafe Firmware Upgrade - Interface Demo's
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old March 8th, 2007, 05:51 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,057
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318 v3 Firmware Upgrade

well.. i been using FVS114 but got old school FVS318v24 (the best) and using FVS318V3.0_24.

so far it's doing good but client had issue before with 3.0_21 and _22 helped on reboot schedule option.

I'm running FVS114 on front end to still test because Netgear said.. NAT pukes when internet locks up... I setup DMZ for my FVS318 behind FVS114 to go out for VPN and working sitting while still see how FVS114 will effect me on front end....ahah...
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old March 24th, 2007, 03:53 AM
veranderon veranderon is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Oz
Posts: 6
veranderon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318 v3 Firmware Upgrade

Ok, Upgraded on 8 Mar and here we are at 24 Mar 07.

Current up time is around 7 days as I did a restart after some modifications. The unit has performed flawlessly in this time and whilst I don't think we will ever run it up to capacity, we are giving it a fair cop.

As mentioned earlier, throughput is definitely up from the previous version and stability is rock solid. I do have a small issue with a Win2K box which seems to kill it for a few minutes when it is shut down (The 2k Box), but I'm hoping that will sort itself out.

Apart from that small issue, its fantastic. As previously mentioned, I think this is one of the good ones and whilst it could do with a few more up to date features, I think I will be sticking to the venerable 318 for awhile to come.

Thanks to forum members for your participation and assistance.

Chaderac
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old March 26th, 2007, 03:45 AM
GuyAdams's Avatar
GuyAdams GuyAdams is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
GuyAdams is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318 v3 Firmware Upgrade

Glad to hear things are working for you now.

I have deployed hundreds of FVS318's, its the one of the work horses of the Netgear prosafe range.

Just a suggestion with your Windows 2000 machine, have you tried updating the network card drivers?

Thanks
__________________
Guy Adams

Check out my blog 'Guy Adams on Technology' here (external link)

Forum Rules - Post screenshots for free

VPN Tutorials, Tips & Tricks - ProSafe Firmware Upgrade - Interface Demo's
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old March 27th, 2007, 06:41 AM
veranderon veranderon is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Oz
Posts: 6
veranderon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318 v3 Firmware Upgrade

Thanks for the suggestion Guy
It's running 2 NIC's. A FA310X and a FA311. The box is doing lab duty for my studies, some mild downloading and is a general workhorse. So now you have got me thinking I might upgrade both cards. Not sure what to but I will have a look about. No need for gigabit here, but something that matches my 318.

I will post back with the results

C
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old March 27th, 2007, 06:52 AM
GuyAdams's Avatar
GuyAdams GuyAdams is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
GuyAdams is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318 v3 Firmware Upgrade

No problems, keep us posted on your progress.

Thanks
__________________
Guy Adams

Check out my blog 'Guy Adams on Technology' here (external link)

Forum Rules - Post screenshots for free

VPN Tutorials, Tips & Tricks - ProSafe Firmware Upgrade - Interface Demo's
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old April 12th, 2007, 04:19 PM
desperado desperado is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
desperado is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318 v3 Firmware Upgrade

BTW, it seems likely that the 'helpful' prompts with the old info are being generated by your browser, not by the firmware in the router...

Quote:
Originally Posted by veranderon View Post
I followed the advice above and elsewhere on this forum but even with the 60 second reset done several times, it seemed to retain portions of memory from the old settings - not so much the config itself, but old MAC Addresses and other data. When I started inputting the new info, it would automatically prompt me with some of the old info.
__________________

Desperado

"I love deadlines. I specially love the swooshing sounds they make as they fly by."
-- Douglas Adams: Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy (1989)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:46 AM.