Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 10th, 2010, 12:58 AM
strawbs11 strawbs11 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
strawbs11 is on a distinguished road
Default Invalid IP address when trying to connect to xbox live with Netgear WGR614v6

My son's xbox was previously successfully connected to xbox live using the xbox wireless adaptor. My computer has a netgear router WGR614v6, and i have another PC and laptop connected wirelessly to it with no dramas.

The xbox required a repair for an unrelated matter, and since he got it back he is unable to connect to xbox live. Xbox can see the network name but the IP address automatically assigned is invalid (169.254.45.2). I have tried to manually set the IP address (192.168.1.5 say) but no luck. i have had numerous calls to xbox support but no joy, they say its the router. i am completely lost and frustrated. i have tried resetting/power cycling router and modem.The tv with the xbox and the computer are too far apart to connect with ethernet cable. i have been using this router for a couple of years with no problem till now. Do i need to update it? Any ideas anyone???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 10th, 2010, 01:16 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,398
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Invalid IP address when trying to connect to xbox live with Netgear WGR614v6

Are you using a Wireless Access List in the router settings? If so disable it.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 10th, 2010, 01:20 AM
strawbs11 strawbs11 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
strawbs11 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Invalid IP address when trying to connect to xbox live with Netgear WGR614v6

have already disabled wireless access list
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 10th, 2010, 01:51 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,398
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Invalid IP address when trying to connect to xbox live with Netgear WGR614v6

Have you double checked the wireless encryption key for the X-Box? Try temporarily disabling wireless encryption in the router (and the X-Box.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 10th, 2010, 02:26 AM
strawbs11 strawbs11 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
strawbs11 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Invalid IP address when trying to connect to xbox live with Netgear WGR614v6

OMG when i disabled WEP key in both router and xbox it FINALLY worked ( Much to son's joy and my relief!)-thanks!! Now...not sure why i had to do that as i hadn't actually changed the WEP key...will i need to reset it again now??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 10th, 2010, 03:15 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,398
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Invalid IP address when trying to connect to xbox live with Netgear WGR614v6

Just try to re-apply wireless encryption, but use WPA or WPA2 which is more secure than WEP if possible. Don’t forget to write down the encryption key somewhere.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 10th, 2010, 06:14 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,057
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Invalid IP address when trying to connect to xbox live with Netgear WGR614v6

Quote:
Originally Posted by strawbs11 View Post
OMG when i disabled WEP key in both router and xbox it FINALLY worked ( Much to son's joy and my relief!)-thanks!! Now...not sure why i had to do that as i hadn't actually changed the WEP key...will i need to reset it again now??
WEP is hackable. unless you went log back and WEP key was still the same what you have generated then you did not get hacked.

WPA2 will be your first choice as WPA-TKIP is also considerable easy to hack
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:38 PM.