#1  
Old March 5th, 2007, 09:10 PM
stamina stamina is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
stamina is on a distinguished road
Default Lost My Driver CD for WGR614 V6 Router

Can someone please direct me to where I can find an internet accessible version of the drivers/setup wizard for the WGR614 v6 router.

I have that model and have moved on to a new computer but don't have the CD anymore. Still have the router but not the CD. So I don't need just an upgrade version, I need the whole original.

Please help!

Thanks for any help!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 6th, 2007, 05:41 AM
Netgear1-9A-Z's Avatar
Netgear1-9A-Z Netgear1-9A-Z is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,875
Netgear1-9A-Z is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Lost My Driver CD for WGR614 V6 Router

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=3989

If you search the model number of your device on the Netgear site you will find all the downloads for that device.

http://kbserver.netgear.com/products/wgr614v6.asp

Moving to 802.11g routers.

Last edited by Netgear1-9A-Z; March 7th, 2007 at 05:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 6th, 2007, 04:47 PM
stamina stamina is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
stamina is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Lost My Driver CD for WGR614 V6 Router

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netgear1-9A-Z View Post
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=3989

If you search the model number of your device on the Netgear site you will find all the downloads for that device.

http://kbserver.netgear.com/products/wgr614v6.asp
I did the downloads and my computer refused to run them. I got the following message:

"You are attempting to open a file of a type 'Recovered File Fragments' (.chk)"

And then it asks me to figure out an application program to run it, which I don't have.

How can I get a download of the setup wizard? That's what I'm really going to need here. Can't figure out how to do it otherwise since the www.routerlogin.net doesn't ask me to login. I'm all confused. Help!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 3rd, 2007, 06:53 PM
stamina stamina is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
stamina is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Lost My Driver CD for WGR614 V6 Router

Can someone please, please help me?

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 3rd, 2007, 07:06 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Lost My Driver CD for WGR614 V6 Router

Quote:
Originally Posted by stamina View Post
Can someone please, please help me?

tell the truth you don't need cd to install it.

reset the router and type routerloging or when IE browser opens up it should start "netgear smart wizzard".

you can download maunal for supplement to help you other protion of router setting but wizzard will make intial setup. please do this on WIRED ONLY.
you will need to setup after you finish wizzard and log back in. all those are in manual.

Just feel you better, I never open of CD's.. that come with it..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 4th, 2007, 08:12 PM
stamina stamina is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
stamina is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Lost My Driver CD for WGR614 V6 Router

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
tell the truth you don't need cd to install it.

reset the router and type routerloging or when IE browser opens up it should start "netgear smart wizzard".

you can download maunal for supplement to help you other protion of router setting but wizzard will make intial setup. please do this on WIRED ONLY.
you will need to setup after you finish wizzard and log back in. all those are in manual.

Just feel you better, I never open of CD's.. that come with it..
Thanks for your attempt at help. But I want to install the router software to a new computer and don't have the original CD. When I try to download the software from the netgear website, I get the messages I described in my previous post where it asks for an application program to use the loaded files which I apparently don't have.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 4th, 2007, 09:05 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Lost My Driver CD for WGR614 V6 Router

Quote:
Originally Posted by stamina View Post
Thanks for your attempt at help. But I want to install the router software to a new computer and don't have the original CD. When I try to download the software from the netgear website, I get the messages I described in my previous post where it asks for an application program to use the loaded files which I apparently don't have.
I guess you didn't get the message.. CD really don't do much... you can setup without the CD period. If you don't have CD then generally you will not able to download.

Any router on the market do not need CD to setup. I suggest look the manual.

You better off learn without CD, you will learn better about router

http://192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1

user: admin
pass: password

routerlogin.net also give you access to the unit.

if you are setting up fresh.. reset the router by holding down 10sec on reset pin hole.

open broswer and "netgear smart wizzard" this will setup your internet connectivity.

Last edited by jmizoguchi; April 5th, 2007 at 06:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 5th, 2007, 05:55 AM
Entropy Entropy is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 105
Entropy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Lost My Driver CD for WGR614 V6 Router

Quote:
Originally Posted by stamina View Post
Thanks for your attempt at help. But I want to install the router software to a new computer and don't have the original CD. When I try to download the software from the netgear website, I get the messages I described in my previous post where it asks for an application program to use the loaded files which I apparently don't have.
As jmizoguchi said, you do not need the CD to set up the router. I am fairly certain those .CHK files you downloaded are firmware upgrade images - They are not necessary to set up your router, only to upgrade its fimware.

To set up your router, point a web browser to one of the following URLs from a computer connected to the router using a wired connection. (Access to setup via wireless is disabled by default for security reasons.)

http://routerlogin.net/
or
http://192.168.0.1/
or
http://192.168.1.1/

routerlogin.net fails often for various reasons, using the IP directly always works, and the defaults for Netgear routers are always one of the above.

Note that if you only changed computers, there should be no need to change router settings unless you set up MAC filtering. (This is a relatively advanced feature that you wouldn't have been able to set up without knowing about the web setup interface though...)

The only "client side" changes that are usually needed when connecting a new PC to a router are the WEP or WPA password/keys on the PC side for wireless PCs. Everything else is usually plug-and-play.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 2nd, 2007, 04:59 PM
stamina stamina is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
stamina is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Lost My Driver CD for WGR614 V6 Router

Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropy View Post
As jmizoguchi said, you do not need the CD to set up the router. I am fairly certain those .CHK files you downloaded are firmware upgrade images - They are not necessary to set up your router, only to upgrade its fimware.

To set up your router, point a web browser to one of the following URLs from a computer connected to the router using a wired connection. (Access to setup via wireless is disabled by default for security reasons.)

http://routerlogin.net/
or
http://192.168.0.1/
or
http://192.168.1.1/

routerlogin.net fails often for various reasons, using the IP directly always works, and the defaults for Netgear routers are always one of the above.

Note that if you only changed computers, there should be no need to change router settings unless you set up MAC filtering. (This is a relatively advanced feature that you wouldn't have been able to set up without knowing about the web setup interface though...)

The only "client side" changes that are usually needed when connecting a new PC to a router are the WEP or WPA password/keys on the PC side for wireless PCs. Everything else is usually plug-and-play.
Hmmm, none of those IPs seem to work. Were they changed?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 2nd, 2007, 05:08 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Lost My Driver CD for WGR614 V6 Router

visit my site "router reset" and do step 1,3,4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:31 AM.