Old April 10th, 2010, 07:38 AM
NETGEAR Newbie

clmallow is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Email Log Failure on WNDR3300

All:

This is my first post here, so please forgive me if I fail to include something that I should in my original post. (And please allow me to state that I am a novice user...I don't understand all the technical aspects of things, but if you give me step-by-step instructions, I can certainly follow them easily enough. Keeping this in mind, on with my issue(s)...)

(1) I have activated the Blocking feature of my WNDR3300 wireless router. There are several computers and phones that access this router, and I have already designated static IP addresses for devices that I wish to not constantly change (for the purposes of having a Trusted IP address without constantly having to go back in & update this Trusted address every time the IP address for a machine changes). I would like to be notified whenever someone tries to access a blocked site or domain, I've enabled this feature in the Email settings, but I test machines that are not to be able to access certain things to intentionally create a log, and everywhere an access has been restricted and it attempts to send an email (through my gmail account, the only one I have), it reports an error that says,

"[email failed] Must issue a STARTTLS command first. 23sm1497438qyk.3, Saturday, Apr 10,2010 11:17:59"

I've made sure to adjust settings in my email account through MS Outlook 2007 to reflect the following:

Incoming Mail Server (POP3): 995
Ticked checkbox for "This server requires an encrypted connection (SSL)"
Outgoing Mail Server (SMTP): 465
"Use the following type of encrypted connection:" TLS

I can send/receive emails just fine from every computer or phone connected wirelessly or wired to the router, so I am confident the email settings themselves are just fine. So why is the WNDR3300 failing to initiate a STARTTLS command to send the log email whenever an access violation has occurred?