#51  
Old May 27th, 2010, 07:01 AM
Gorm Gorm is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6
Gorm is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.3 Stora firmware update - Please Read

Come on... There must be an update soon!? Im just waiting for the Firmware update because the Stora is useless without the Jbod feature for my purposes! Are there any information when there will be an update?!
Or have i send the stora to the seller to get my money back because i will never can use the jbod feature?

regards of an upset coustumer...
  #52  
Old May 27th, 2010, 07:39 AM
soakden soakden is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
soakden is on a distinguished road
Default Sotra - totally dead!

My Stora worked perfectly until a few days ago when it mustve updated itself - I came to log into it remotely but nothing, when I got home and checked it the hard drive light was solid green but the power light was blinking blue.

I tried the following:
1. Left Stora on a few hours to see if it resolved itself.
2. removed the power and then started it up again - still blinking blue light
3. removed hard drive and tried step 2 again - still just a blinking blue light

It doesnt appear on my network or anything. At the moment its just a rather expensive black box. I cant even login to it to tell anyone the firmware ver.

Any ideas or help to be offered at all?
  #53  
Old May 27th, 2010, 12:16 PM
Lammert Lammert is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 11
Lammert is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.3 Stora firmware update - Please Read

Hello,

I had the same problem, see: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=51740

Contact netgear for support ?
  #54  
Old May 28th, 2010, 07:45 AM
Skydiver Skydiver is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 68
Skydiver is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sotra - totally dead!

Quote:
Originally Posted by soakden View Post
My Stora worked perfectly until a few days ago when it mustve updated itself - I came to log into it remotely but nothing, when I got home and checked it the hard drive light was solid green but the power light was blinking blue.

I tried the following:
1. Left Stora on a few hours to see if it resolved itself.
2. removed the power and then started it up again - still blinking blue light
3. removed hard drive and tried step 2 again - still just a blinking blue light

It doesnt appear on my network or anything. At the moment its just a rather expensive black box. I cant even login to it to tell anyone the firmware ver.

Any ideas or help to be offered at all?
Hi,
ive seen that one time with 2.3.1 .
Shutting the stora down and rebooting the router has fixed this for me.
Greetz Tom.
  #55  
Old June 15th, 2010, 02:13 AM
mconstable mconstable is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 8
mconstable is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sotra - totally dead!

I just got my Stora this afternoon and still trying to work my way through using it from linux. Where do I find the information about downloading the 2.3.1 firmware and how to install it from a linux desktop using the CLI?

I have started to RTFM but it seems to refer only to winmac users.

My current firmware is 1.1.1:2.0.0.84:1.0.0.101.5
  #56  
Old June 15th, 2010, 05:36 AM
TerryJColes TerryJColes is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 57
TerryJColes is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sotra - totally dead!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mconstable View Post
I just got my Stora this afternoon and still trying to work my way through using it from linux. Where do I find the information about downloading the 2.3.1 firmware and how to install it from a linux desktop using the CLI?

I have started to RTFM but it seems to refer only to winmac users.

My current firmware is 1.1.1:2.0.0.84:1.0.0.101.5
I too am a Linux user and have owned my Stora for around 1-2 weeks. Having spent a bit of time getting to know how to use the UI under Linux, I think I now have some idea what's what.

I would suggest that you do nothing for the moment. AIUI, the 2.3.1 update was to fix bugs in V 2.3, which was only installed by a few users before Netgear pulled the version. The latest stable release seems to be 1.2 and we should leave well alone until Netgear pushes the next update to the rest of the User base.

Again, AIUI, it will be pushed through the browser interface when it comes. (It may also be an unattended download.) Either way, you shouldn't need to use the CLI.
  #57  
Old June 15th, 2010, 06:43 AM
mconstable mconstable is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 8
mconstable is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sotra - totally dead!

@TerryJColes: thanks for the advice, I will wait. I mainly use SSH and managed to get ipkg installed so I can now proceed with managing my Stora as I would any "normal" remote linux server, very cool. 110 seconds for a reboot from shutdown -r to stable blue/green lights, not bad.

Anyone here use Archlinux by any chance?
  #58  
Old June 16th, 2010, 04:15 AM
Richy Richy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Richy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.3 Stora firmware update - Please Read

Hi!

I have a big problem :S
Probably there was a power failure while the Stora was Updating.
Now I cant enter to the Stora web interface i can type my username and
password, but after i click "log in" all i have got is a black screen with the
loading sign. and it wont go further.

What should i do, i have tried the all reset variations but i have the same issue.

Is there a big "monster" reset or something like that ?
Or can i downgrade or update the firmware other way than the web interface ?

PLEASE HELP !!! its killing me :S
  #59  
Old June 16th, 2010, 01:28 PM
vega_ska vega_ska is offline
Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mexico
Posts: 198
vega_ska is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.3 Stora firmware update - Please Read

The same happens to my stora, there was a power outage, but, there where no updating going on, it had the latest firmware for weeks... What cani do? Help. :'-(
  #60  
Old June 19th, 2010, 10:33 AM
ZeroQool ZeroQool is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
ZeroQool is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2.3 Stora firmware update - Please Read

Where I can see my firmware version? I dont see it in my web interface. thanks
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:19 PM.