#1  
Old May 12th, 2010, 09:45 AM
jclegg2 jclegg2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
jclegg2 is on a distinguished road
Default WIFI access on the road

I want to use WIFI access at RV parks while traveling across country in my RV. Frys Electronics sold me a WG602v4 access point and said to configure it as a "repeater". When I attempt to do this I need the MAC address of the router I want to connect to. Unfortunately, the people who work at these RV parks dont know what a MAC address is. Because most RV's have a lot of metal in then, I have to be outside to connec to the parks WIFI. I have an external antenna for the WG602v4 and want to use it to connect to the RV park WIFI and provide a WIFI connection inside my RV. I use a laptop computer and also a Netgear WIFI Skype phone in the RV.
How do I get the RV Park's Mac address??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 12th, 2010, 10:11 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WIFI access on the road

will NOT work

you will need this

http://kb.netgear.com/app/products/model/a_id/13019
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 12th, 2010, 11:19 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,295
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WIFI access on the road

Quote:
Originally Posted by jclegg2 View Post
How do I get the RV Park's Mac address??
Download NetStumbler and install it on your laptop - when you get to the RV park, take the laptop outside and use NetStumbler, it will show you the SSID & MAC address of every wireless network it finds.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 12th, 2010, 11:23 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WIFI access on the road

repeat is what poster is trying and don't think I would bother to use WG602 to begin with.

GET WNCE2001 instead so that you do not have to bother RV property and also you will able to hookup your won network behind the WNCE2001
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:04 PM.