#1  
Old May 17th, 2010, 10:44 PM
ladaman ladaman is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
ladaman is on a distinguished road
Default 2 WNR1000's wont allow internet access between each other

I have 2 WNR1000 units and are trying to use them both as access points. They are both set up with the same SSID with WPA encryption and DHCP is disabled.
One unit is connected to a network with a netgear ADSL router attached that is providing DHCP info to the equipment on the main network. I can access the main network via a laptop, wirelessy, through this WNR1000 and even go on the internet no problems..

I can replace this unit with the other one that is set up the same way but a slightly different IP address and access the internet no problems form my laptop.

So leaving that unit there and connecting the other unit to a computer that has no wireless capability or internet connection i would expect to be able to plug it in and off i go, unfortunatly it won't connect to the internet.

I can't even ping between the network so there must be something else i need to alter but after 4 hours i have given up.

The pc has a fixed ip address and gateway that i took from the settings on my laptop when i could connect that way but it still fails...

There is no clash of IP addresses, both routers are in the the same ip range as the main network i am trying to connect to (for internet connection) as is the pc and still it won't work....

Does any one have any ideas......

Ricke
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 18th, 2010, 04:59 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: 2 WNR1000's wont allow internet access between each other

if two of WNR1000 is connecting with wireless each other than WPA will not work. use WEP ONLY. if WNR1000 used as just AP and not repeat you can use WPA


http://www.unix.ms/netgear/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 18th, 2010, 10:05 AM
ladaman ladaman is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
ladaman is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2 WNR1000's wont allow internet access between each other

Thanks for that i will give it a try......

If i set up mac address list on each of the WNR units to improve security will that work....

I will drop the WPA from both as you suggest and go with WEP

Ricke
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 18th, 2010, 11:33 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: 2 WNR1000's wont allow internet access between each other

to repeat, cross reference mac address and WEP is basics
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 18th, 2010, 11:45 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,506
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2 WNR1000's wont allow internet access between each other

I don't think he's trying to repeat - the PC is connected by an ethernet cable, so that would be bridging
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 18th, 2010, 11:49 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: 2 WNR1000's wont allow internet access between each other

wasn't clear and hasn't really cleared up either. also he did not reply back that he was not doing that either, who knows......
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 21st, 2010, 11:37 AM
ladaman ladaman is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
ladaman is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2 WNR1000's wont allow internet access between each other

Fordham is correct......

There is a PC in a 'bunker' .......dont ask........

200 meters away is a network that has broadband via an ADSL router. This router supplies DHCP info to the other computers on this network and has full internet access but no wireless interface.

The bunker PC has no means of a hardwired connection to the network so i intend to use one of the WNR units as the wireless interface with the ethernet cable from the WNR to the ethernet port on the computer.

I have another WNR to use on the network as an access point for the bunker pc's WNR.

I have disabled all security on the WNR's, they have the same SSID, fixed ip's based on the networks settings, both DHCP are disabled on the WNR units.

Bunker PC ip 192.168.1.45 fixed
Bunker PC Subnet 255.255.255.0 fixed
Bunker PC gateway 192.168.1.254 fixed
Bunker PC DNS Server 192.168.1.254 fixed
Bunker WNR is 192.168.1.80 fixed

Network range is 192.168.1.254
Network Subnet 255.255.255.0
Network WNR 192.168.1.110 fixed
Network gateway 192.168.1.254
Network DNS Server 192.168.1.254

I can access the internet from my laptop wirelessly through the network WNR no problem. I can swop the bunker WNR onto the network and access the internet again no problem.
I cannot access the internet from the bunker Pc when the WNR units are in place.
Disabling the wireless on my laptop and plugging the bunker WNR into my laptop results in the same thing, it will not work.

So any ideas would be greatly appreciated, is there an easy way to bridge these units like on belkins for example.....

They are not an option in this instance.....

Ricke
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 21st, 2010, 04:52 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: 2 WNR1000's wont allow internet access between each other

since works on other WNR and one don't , seems bunker unit has as issues either been fault unit if these are wired the main router
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 22nd, 2010, 11:31 AM
ladaman ladaman is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
ladaman is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 2 WNR1000's wont allow internet access between each other

I can access the internet from my laptop wirelessly through the network WNR no problem. I can swop the bunker WNR onto the network and access the internet again no problem.



They both work exactly the same when connected to the network so i think that there is little chance of a fault.

Can these units be 'bridged' at all....

Ricke
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 22nd, 2010, 11:36 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: 2 WNR1000's wont allow internet access between each other

Quote:
Originally Posted by ladaman View Post
I can access the internet from my laptop wirelessly through the network WNR no problem. I can swop the bunker WNR onto the network and access the internet again no problem.



They both work exactly the same when connected to the network so i think that there is little chance of a fault.

Can these units be 'bridged' at all....

Ricke

you can not use WNR2000 to bridge . only repeat.

this is what you want
http://kb.netgear.com/app/products/model/a_id/13019
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:37 AM.