#1  
Old June 16th, 2010, 01:51 AM
kotesh kotesh is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
kotesh is on a distinguished road
Default Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Hi,
i am a novice in networking topics.
I have a DGN2000 router which is being used as acces point. I alos have WGR614V7 router which i never used.

1. Is it possible to use wgr614 V7 router with DGN2000 as repeater?
2. I read in some of the forums that only WGR614 version 8 onwards support repeating function. Is this correct?
If that is correct, can i update the firmware on my wgr614 v7 to make it V8?

Thanks in advance?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 16th, 2010, 10:52 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

WGR614V7 don't support WDS so answer is NO

will not work

V9 is needed at least
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 22nd, 2010, 11:36 PM
kotesh kotesh is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
kotesh is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Hi June,
Thanks for ur reply.
So i assume that DGN2000 supports WDS which is required to use a repeater with. Am i right?
I would like to buy an wireless router to use as a repeater.
Can you please suggest some router which is going to be used as just repeater to work with DGN2000?

Thanks,
kotesh

Last edited by Mars Mug; June 24th, 2010 at 01:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 23rd, 2010, 12:30 AM
katrinabernardino's Avatar
katrinabernardino katrinabernardino is offline
Moderator
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 631
katrinabernardino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Hi, I would suggest you to use WNR3700 or WNR3500.
__________________
kat

---------------------------------------------------

I'm wondering if I could help you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 23rd, 2010, 01:07 AM
kotesh kotesh is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
kotesh is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Thanks. Is this the cheapest option?
I am looking for cheapest but reliable option as i am already wasted money with WGR614 v7 router.

Last edited by Mars Mug; June 24th, 2010 at 01:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 23rd, 2010, 05:05 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by kotesh View Post
Hi June,
Thanks for ur reply.
So i assume that DGN2000 supports WDS which is required to use a repeater with. Am i right?
I would like to buy an wireless router to use as a repeater.
Can you please suggest some router which is going to be used as just repeater to work with DGN2000?

Thanks,
kotesh
depends on but WGR614 V9 will work and they more cheapest one you can by

or ANY N router will have supports WDS (WNR series. )
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 23rd, 2010, 07:04 AM
kotesh kotesh is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
kotesh is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Thanks.
Is version 9 the latest version of WGR614. I dont want buy again a old version one.

Last edited by Mars Mug; June 24th, 2010 at 01:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 23rd, 2010, 10:17 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

if not I would not say it

Last edited by Mars Mug; June 24th, 2010 at 01:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 24th, 2010, 12:53 AM
kotesh kotesh is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
kotesh is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Thanks for your help, i am going to buy one.

Last edited by Mars Mug; June 24th, 2010 at 01:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 25th, 2010, 05:40 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Quote:
Originally Posted by kotesh View Post
Thanks for your help, i am going to buy one.
WGR614V9 or V10 do the job
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:07 PM.