#1  
Old June 16th, 2010, 04:51 PM
litmouse litmouse is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
litmouse is on a distinguished road
Default DGND3300 Speed problems

Hello - I bought a DGND3300 received it today and set it up just like the setup instructions told me to. I can connect to it both through direct connect and wireless but have a problem with the wireless.

When I connect direct and test my speed it does 2.86 download but when I connect wireless it won't even run the test it's that slow. (dial up flash backs) but when I go back to my old DLink dsl-2460b the wireless works with the same speed as my direct connect, so I know it has something to do with the netgear and a setting I'm missing. I have tried resetting it back to the default setting and leaving the network unsecured but that did not help either.

I am currently on AT&T dsl xtreme 3.0mbps.

I would greatly appreciate any help or suggestions.

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 16th, 2010, 05:21 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: DGND3300 Speed problems

what is the wireless adapter you are using and wireless setting in the router
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 16th, 2010, 06:37 PM
litmouse litmouse is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
litmouse is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGND3300 Speed problems

I'm currently using the default settings in the router. as far as the adapter I'm assuming you mean the wifi card in my laptop - it's a wireless n card. But if I'm misunderstand please forgive me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 16th, 2010, 06:43 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: DGND3300 Speed problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by litmouse View Post
I'm currently using the default settings in the router. as far as the adapter I'm assuming you mean the wifi card in my laptop - it's a wireless n card. But if I'm misunderstand please forgive me.
you need to login and check your wireless setting. assuming really don't do justice here... can't guess either..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 16th, 2010, 06:46 PM
litmouse litmouse is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
litmouse is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGND3300 Speed problems

will be glad to what info do you need to assist me? By the way THANK YOU for helping me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 16th, 2010, 06:52 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: DGND3300 Speed problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by litmouse View Post
will be glad to what info do you need to assist me? By the way THANK YOU for helping me.
login the router and you will find wireless setting.

manual do the router will tell you how to....
http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/8484
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 16th, 2010, 07:07 PM
litmouse litmouse is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
litmouse is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGND3300 Speed problems

ssid- netgear-dualband-n
ssid - netgear-2.4-g

mode - up to 270mbps at 5ghz & 54mbps at 2.4 ghz
11n channel - 36
11g channel - 11

security disabled

enabled wireless access pt
allow broadcast of name (SSID)
frag threshold 2346
cts/rts threshold 2347
preamble mode long

hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 16th, 2010, 07:23 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: DGND3300 Speed problems

Quote:
Mode

Select the desired wireless mode. The options are:

Up to 270Mbps at 2.4GHz

Up to 270Mbps at 5GHz & 54Mbps at 2.4GHz
Up to 130Mbps at 2.4GHz
Up to 130Mbps at 5GHz & 54Mbps at 2.4GHz
try those either two
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 17th, 2010, 03:14 AM
msquillace msquillace is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Milano, Italia
Posts: 13
msquillace is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGND3300 Speed problems

@litmouse,
AFAIK, using "security disabled" decreases performances of 802.11n network speed; try to use WAP2 (aka WAP/AES)...
Be aware that:
- with default settings, Up to 270Mbps at 5GHz & 54Mbps at 2.4GHz DGND3300 "send" 802.11n on 5GHz only while 802.11b/g are "send" on 2.4GHz;
- there are known limitations on 5GHz band performances and coverage.

See also this post where I've tried to highlight links between protocols and bands ...

In my home, I set:
Security WAP2
Up to 270Mbps at 2.4GHz
cts/rts threshold 2346
preamble mode short
Using WAP2 improved dramatically speed, while last 2 settings, copied from WRT54G set up, produced a gain of around 10% of coverage...

my2cents from Italy,
mimmo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 17th, 2010, 07:27 AM
litmouse litmouse is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
litmouse is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGND3300 Speed problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by msquillace View Post
@litmouse,
AFAIK, using "security disabled" decreases performances of 802.11n network speed; try to use WAP2 (aka WAP/AES)...
Be aware that:
- with default settings, Up to 270Mbps at 5GHz & 54Mbps at 2.4GHz DGND3300 "send" 802.11n on 5GHz only while 802.11b/g are "send" on 2.4GHz;
- there are known limitations on 5GHz band performances and coverage.

See also this post where I've tried to highlight links between protocols and bands ...

In my home, I set:
Security WAP2
Up to 270Mbps at 2.4GHz
cts/rts threshold 2346
preamble mode short
Using WAP2 improved dramatically speed, while last 2 settings, copied from WRT54G set up, produced a gain of around 10% of coverage...

my2cents from Italy,
mimmo

Thank you for the information I will certainly try that. At this point I will try anything to get out of "dial up mode" as I'm calling it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:01 PM.