#1  
Old July 8th, 2010, 08:17 AM
Larva Larva is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
Larva is on a distinguished road
Default Wireless Mode Help

I'm confused about what I should set the Mode value to for my wireless networks (within the Wireless Settings section of the firmware).

For both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz you can select up to 54, 130, or 300. What does this do besides change the maximum theoretical bandwidth?

Right now I have a client connecting through G via the 2.4Ghz network and I have it set to 300. Is up to 300 supposed to only support N and I'm getting lucky or what?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 8th, 2010, 10:14 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,612
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless Mode Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larva View Post
Right now I have a client connecting through G via the 2.4Ghz network and I have it set to 300. Is up to 300 supposed to only support N and I'm getting lucky or what?
That should work with 802.11b/g/n.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 8th, 2010, 04:04 PM
jlewter jlewter is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,304
jlewter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless Mode Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larva View Post
I'm confused about what I should set the Mode value to for my wireless networks (within the Wireless Settings section of the firmware).

For both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz you can select up to 54, 130, or 300. What does this do besides change the maximum theoretical bandwidth?

Right now I have a client connecting through G via the 2.4Ghz network and I have it set to 300. Is up to 300 supposed to only support N and I'm getting lucky or what?
I think it works like this
54 meg (set to G network)
130 meg, GI of 800ns, 2 streams, 20mhz overlay
300 meg, GI of 400ns, 2 streams, 40mhz overlay

You can easily mix equipment and the hardware will all work fine, I believe you end up with a system where the N and G equipment gets encapsulated inside the 11b standard, but if there's no mixed environment then no encapsulation happens.

If your only going to connect only G equipment, then you may want to set it to 54 meg to see if you get some slight performance gain.

the lareger GI of 800ns helps when packet failure rate is too high to work at the 400ns timing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:26 AM.