#1  
Old July 10th, 2010, 07:00 AM
Terrum's Avatar
Terrum Terrum is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK, Kent
Posts: 8
Terrum is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Releasing my router's IP address

Hi, I'm new to the forum and hope I can get some help. I have a NETGEAR RangeMax Wireless Router model WPN824v2 and am wondering how to release my router's IP address. I'm following these steps to change my IP address:
http://whatismyipaddress.com/change-ip

1. Log into the router's admin console. (Often http://192.168.1.1/)
2. Release the IP address. (Method varies by router manufacturer)
3. Turn off router, ethernet hubs/switches, and the cable/DSL modem.
4. Leave off overnight.
5. Turn everything back on.

Hope someone can help. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 10th, 2010, 07:19 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,553
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Releasing my router's IP address

You are with Virgin Media, following that routine it can take weeks for the ISP end to reallocate the IP address to someone else, so within that time if you power up your equipment again the IP will be given back to you.

The easiest way to get a different IP address is through the router Basic Settings. At the bottom of the page switch between ‘Use Router MAC Address (Default)’ and ‘Use Computer MAC address’. It is the MAC address that the modem sees that dictates what IP address you get. Each time you change and Apply the router MAC setting you will need to power cycle the modem.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 10th, 2010, 07:22 AM
Jack™'s Avatar
Jack™ Jack™ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: localhost, DNS city, @.org
Posts: 2,991
Jack™ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Releasing my router's IP address

You probably mean the "public" or external IP address.
For that you need to switch off your modem and wait a few minutes. Your ISP will then assign a new and different IP address to your modem when it comes online.

The router's IP address is a static (internal) IP address which you can set in the menu of the router. You would want to use something like 192.168.1.1 or 10.0.0.1. This address does not change until you change it in the configuration menu.

Usually, the ISP will re-assign you with a different "public" IP address every 24 hours or other timeframe from a pool of available IP addresses belonging to them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 10th, 2010, 07:23 AM
Terrum's Avatar
Terrum Terrum is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK, Kent
Posts: 8
Terrum is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Releasing my router's IP address

Thanks for the swift reply. I will try that now. So you mean by "power cycle" as in turn it off for a duration of time and then turn it back on? If so, how long?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 10th, 2010, 07:24 AM
Terrum's Avatar
Terrum Terrum is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK, Kent
Posts: 8
Terrum is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Releasing my router's IP address

I do mean the external IP address, sorry. I have turned off my modem and router both at the same time (as they're both on a extension lead) many times from a few minutes to overnight and I've still got the same IP.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 10th, 2010, 07:48 AM
Jack™'s Avatar
Jack™ Jack™ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: localhost, DNS city, @.org
Posts: 2,991
Jack™ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Releasing my router's IP address

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrum View Post
I have turned off my modem and router both at the same time (as they're both on a extension lead) many times from a few minutes to overnight and I've still got the same IP.
Then try Mars Mug's trick or get in touch with your IPS and check if you have a dynamic or static IP type of internet access.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 10th, 2010, 07:49 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Releasing my router's IP address

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrum View Post
Thanks for the swift reply. I will try that now. So you mean by "power cycle" as in turn it off for a duration of time and then turn it back on? If so, how long?
yes... give 30sec break and plug the power plug
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 10th, 2010, 07:52 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Releasing my router's IP address

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrum View Post
I do mean the external IP address, sorry. I have turned off my modem and router both at the same time (as they're both on a extension lead) many times from a few minutes to overnight and I've still got the same IP.
if broadband is cable service then you can only change the public IP by mac spoofing

if you have DSL services then dynamic IP, usually when you disconnect the the internet connection it should change IP but again ISP may not renew the new IP
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 10th, 2010, 08:43 AM
Terrum's Avatar
Terrum Terrum is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK, Kent
Posts: 8
Terrum is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Releasing my router's IP address

Thanks a ton Mars, It actually worked. I did what you said and now my IP has changed! Very happy.

1. I changed the router to use computer MAC
2. turned off my router and modem for 30+ minutes
3. turned all back on
4. went to www.whatismyip.com
5. new ip

Thanks very much. +rep to all.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 10th, 2010, 10:29 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,553
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Releasing my router's IP address

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrum View Post
2. turned off my router and modem for 30+ minutes
3. turned all back on.
I do this all the time when testing with my Virgin Media connection, I've never found it necessary to wait at all, just power off the modem and router (though powering off the router may not be necessary) then power on the modem, let it initialise, then power on the router (if you powered it off).

Anyway, glad you're sorted
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:49 PM.