#1  
Old September 2nd, 2010, 06:03 PM
beauknowsdiddly beauknowsdiddly is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
beauknowsdiddly is on a distinguished road
Default default IP address

Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting here so I'm not sure if I'm even posting in the right spot but you have to start somewhere I suppose.
I have a WGR614 Router that's hooked up to my ISPs modem and a switch that's hooked up to 3 other machines. Recently the router got hijacked. I reset it back to factory defaults with no problems and everything is fine. Someone said that I need to change the routers default IP address periodically. Is this true? How do I know what to change it to?

Here's what it looks like now.

Thank you,

Beau

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 2nd, 2010, 06:35 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: default IP address

looks fine to me

RESET brings ALLL to default
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 2nd, 2010, 07:48 PM
zashi21's Avatar
zashi21 zashi21 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 197
zashi21 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: default IP address

the only reason why you would have to change the default ip address of the router is IF its WAN/internet port is connected to a modem-router or a modem that is broadcasting private ip address that is the same with the router.. for example, when you connect you computer straight to the modem and you get an ip address 192.169.1.64 on the computer, this obviously conflicts with the router as we all know that the router's default ip address is 192.168.1.1, in this case you need to change the ip address of the router to something that is not in the same ip segment of the modem, you may use 10.0.0.1 or 10.10.10.1, or simply 192.168.x.1 (with x being any number from 2 to 254)..

i hope this helps and answered your questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by beauknowsdiddly View Post
Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting here so I'm not sure if I'm even posting in the right spot but you have to start somewhere I suppose.
I have a WGR614 Router that's hooked up to my ISPs modem and a switch that's hooked up to 3 other machines. Recently the router got hijacked. I reset it back to factory defaults with no problems and everything is fine. Someone said that I need to change the routers default IP address periodically. Is this true? How do I know what to change it to?

Here's what it looks like now.

Thank you,

Beau

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 2nd, 2010, 07:48 PM
beauknowsdiddly beauknowsdiddly is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
beauknowsdiddly is on a distinguished road
Default Re: default IP address

Thank you for that Jmizoguchi
Yes it does look fine but what I was wondering was, do I need to change my router's default ip address periodically? Can I even change it and to what?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 2nd, 2010, 07:52 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: default IP address

Quote:
Originally Posted by beauknowsdiddly View Post
Thank you for that Jmizoguchi
Yes it does look fine but what I was wondering was, do I need to change my router's default ip address periodically? Can I even change it and to what?
you do NOT change DHCP range or router's IP

if you have any issues on setting up see router setup on my sig below
http://vpncasestudy.com/setup.html
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 2nd, 2010, 08:09 PM
beauknowsdiddly beauknowsdiddly is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
beauknowsdiddly is on a distinguished road
Default Re: default IP address

Works for me, thank you everyone!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 3rd, 2010, 04:30 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: default IP address

Quote:
Originally Posted by beauknowsdiddly View Post
Works for me, thank you everyone!
glad to assist ..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:02 PM.