#1  
Old September 13th, 2010, 10:43 AM
Boblink Boblink is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 73
Boblink is on a distinguished road
Default How to configure a WNR2000v2 as a extender/repeater?

Hi, I have 2 system that I am trying to Nework that are about 125 feet apart (with several walls and brick in between).
My plan is to use a Hawking HWRN2 as the Router and will hardwire it to the
1st systems via an Ethernet cable and use the Netgear WNR2000v2 as an Extender/repeater, for the Wireless 2nd system and would appreciate HELP with the following:
- Can the Netgear WNR2000v2 used as a repeater/extender?
- If so, how do I configure the Netgear WNR2000v2 as a repeater/extender?
Thank you in advance for your help.
Bob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 13th, 2010, 01:25 PM
methuselah_'s Avatar
methuselah_ methuselah_ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,071
methuselah_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to configure a WNR2000v2 as a extender/repeater?

Quote:
- Can the Netgear WNR2000v2 used as a repeater/extender?
Yes

Quote:
so, how do I configure the Netgear WNR2000v2 as a repeater/extender?
Here is a guide on how to configure repeating. The model number may be different but the concept is the same. Note that the main router should support WDS (repeating function) for it to work.
__________________
"I make no claims to be an expert; I have got things wrong in the past and will again in the future." ~Mars Mug, Netgear Forums
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 14th, 2010, 03:36 AM
Boblink Boblink is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 73
Boblink is on a distinguished road
Default How to configure a WNR2000v2 as a extender/repeater?

Thank you so much for getting back to me Methuselah, I appreciate your help and glad to hear that the WNR2000v2 CAN be used as a repeater/extender. I thought I would do a little research before I go ahead and implement this scenario and was doing a little reading about repeater, extenders, bridges, Access Points,... and am even more confused and would appreciate your help again. What I am trying to do is create a Network with 2 systems, a Desktop and Laptop that are about 125 feet apart. I do not intended on expanding this Network, if I do it will be between the 2 systems since they are at either end of my house. I set up the Netgear WNR 2000v2 between the systems and was able to connect both systems (the Laptop with an internal adapter and Desktop with an external wireless adapter) but after several months, the Desktop stop working so I attached the Desktop directly to the WRN2000v2 Router and Modem (via Ethernet cable) and am getting a VERY poor signal with the Laptop (which is now 125 feet from the Router). As mentioned, I have been doing a little reading and am even more confused and would appreciate your help. All these devices sound like the do the same thing but they have slightly different functions and different protocols (if that is the right phrase) such as WEP, WAP, WDS,......
I am sure that their is NO easy explanation but under the circumstances, what would be my least expensive, least complicated (to set up), most practical that is offers enough "power" to connect a wireless adapter that is <150 feet from the Router with sufficient security, in a home environment?
Thank you for your help.
Bob
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 14th, 2010, 08:31 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to configure a WNR2000v2 as a extender/repeater?

Without good line a sight, probably fail to connect without external antenna capable wireless router
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 14th, 2010, 09:40 AM
Boblink Boblink is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 73
Boblink is on a distinguished road
Default How to configure a WNR2000v2 as a extender/repeater?

Thank you for your comment June, "Without good line a sight, probably fail to connect without external antenna capable wireless router".
I thought that a repeater/extender was used to EXTEND the wireless broadcast distance of the Router, is this NOT a valid assumption?
I planning to use a Hawking HWRN2 Router (Hi-Gain Wireless-300N Router with Upgradable Antennas) as the Router and reconfigure the (older) Netgear WNR2000v2 as a (I am not sure what the proper terminology is, repeater, extender, Access Point,....) to try and get a better signal to the wireless adapter that is furthest away from the Router.
Is you comment "Without good line a sight, probably fail to connect without external antenna capable wireless router" still valid in this scenario?
Thank you for your help June,
Bob
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 14th, 2010, 10:45 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,492
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to configure a WNR2000v2 as a extender/repeater?

Your repeating device, the WNR2000, simply needs to be in good range of the base station and provide the necessary coverage for the remote wireless device. Say for argument sake you had an ‘L’ shaped house with the base station at the end of one leg, and the client at the end or the other leg i.e. no easy ‘line of sight’ without passing through a couple of walls. It the repeater is placed at the corner of the ‘L’ then it will have ‘visibility’ of both the base station and the remote clients.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 14th, 2010, 10:46 AM
methuselah_'s Avatar
methuselah_ methuselah_ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,071
methuselah_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to configure a WNR2000v2 as a extender/repeater?

Bob, I think what you're planning should work but as I have pointed out, make sure the Hawking HWRN2 supports WDS and you should be good.

Powerlines would also be a good alternative.
__________________
"I make no claims to be an expert; I have got things wrong in the past and will again in the future." ~Mars Mug, Netgear Forums
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 14th, 2010, 12:12 PM
Boblink Boblink is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 73
Boblink is on a distinguished road
Default make sure the Hawking HWRN2 supports WDS

Thank you for the followup Methuselah, it does NOT appear that it supports Wireless Distribution System unless it is a sub-category that is not listed in the Specs.
Thank you for your help.
Bob
================================================== =======

* Manufacturer: Hawking Technologies
* Part Number:HWRN2

General

* Device Type Wireless router
* Form Factor External

Networking

* Connectivity Technology Wired , Wireless
* Frequency Band 2.4 GHz
* Line Coding Format BPSK , OFDM , QPSK , 16 QAM , 64 QAM
* Data Link Protocol Ethernet , IEEE 802.11b , IEEE 802.11g , IEEE 802.11n , Fast Ethernet
* Features Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS)
* Compliant Standards IEEE 802.11b , IEEE 802.11g , IEEE 802.11n

Antenna

* Antenna External detachable
* Antenna Qty 2
* Directivity Omni-directional
* Gain Level 3 dBi

Expansion / Connectivity

* Interfaces 4 x Network - Ethernet 10Base-T/100Base-TX - RJ-45

Miscellaneous

* Cables (Details) 1 x Network cable
* Encryption Algorithm WPA , WPA2
* Compliant Standards CE , FCC

Power

* Power Device Power adapter - External

Environmental Parameters
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 14th, 2010, 12:30 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to configure a WNR2000v2 as a extender/repeater?

If you can detachable antenna then get directional antenna

Google canantenna
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 14th, 2010, 12:49 PM
Boblink Boblink is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 73
Boblink is on a distinguished road
Default How to configure a WNR2000v2 as a extender/repeater?

Thank you for your reply June, was your comment "If you can detachable antenna then get directional antenna" in response to Methuselah's comment
"make sure the Hawking HWRN2 supports WDS and you should be good"?
If so, did you mean to say, if the antenna is detachable, replace the antenna with a directional antenna?
Thank you,
Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:46 PM.