#1  
Old September 22nd, 2010, 01:18 PM
MaroonZ24 MaroonZ24 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
MaroonZ24 is on a distinguished road
Default Router won't work

I searched the forums and i could nto find anything about this. So recently I have not been using my router for a few months, and now I decided I need it and I hooked it up and when I connect the modems enthernet cord to the internet port(Yellow) on the back of the router ( Netgear WGR614V9) IT does not recognize it, but when i hook the cord straight into my computer it works. If I plug the enthernet cord form the modem into the router 4 Lan ports they light up but of course no internet. Could someone help here?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 22nd, 2010, 01:24 PM
MaroonZ24 MaroonZ24 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
MaroonZ24 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Router won't work

Oh and I forgot to put in that I have reset the unit multiple times.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 22nd, 2010, 03:01 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Router won't work

see router setup on my sig below and try that first
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 22nd, 2010, 04:05 PM
MaroonZ24 MaroonZ24 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
MaroonZ24 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Router won't work

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
see router setup on my sig below and try that first
I tried that and it did not help. The router doesn't get any information from the modem. The cord is good I tested that and the modem works cause I hooked it directly up from the modem to the computer and they both work. The router just doesn't get any information it's acting like there is no cord hooked up between the router and modem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 22nd, 2010, 04:29 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Router won't work

No information about broadband . Likely you are setting up right and/pr correct procedure
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 22nd, 2010, 05:02 PM
MaroonZ24 MaroonZ24 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
MaroonZ24 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Router won't work

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
No information about broadband . Likely you are setting up right and/pr correct procedure
Ive set this up before 100's of times along with tons of other types of routers. SO im positive im setting it up right.

http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/m...3XyHNgvEVA.jpg
On the link above the red box'd light stays on and the green boxed light stays on no other light.

http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/m...138_mthumb.jpg
On this one the blue boxed port I have the internet cord hooked into it, and that hooked into the modem and im positive the modem is working I even tested it. Do I have a faulty router?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 22nd, 2010, 05:06 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Router won't work

photo doesn't tell much

what IP router gets from broadband. what IP the PC gets from router

YET not broadband band info.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 22nd, 2010, 05:11 PM
MaroonZ24 MaroonZ24 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
MaroonZ24 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Router won't work

What you mean by broadband info, the type of internet I have? I have Cox communications cable modem.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 22nd, 2010, 05:14 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Router won't work

broadband is not differ than hi speed connection or ISP

you have not answer rest yet
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 22nd, 2010, 05:17 PM
MaroonZ24 MaroonZ24 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
MaroonZ24 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Router won't work

Ok what information do you need?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:00 PM.