#1  
Old October 16th, 2010, 08:46 PM
jasonleschnik jasonleschnik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
jasonleschnik is on a distinguished road
Default Problems with WN2000RPT Range Extender

Hi all!

Just bought a WN2000RPT range extender and i have it all setup. I'm having a strange problem where every couple of hours randomly my hosts on the other LAN segment seem to not be able to ping across to my Netgear WN2000RPT connected hosts.

Now this problem first started when i was unable to get an IP Address on one of my machines that ran flawlessly only acouple of hours previously on the Netgear WN2000RPT side. So being curious i troubleshooted the PC until i could not come up with any conclusion why this was not working.

I decided to crack out Wireshark and i was tailing my dhcpd logs and i was getting a DHCP request from the machine on the WN2000RPT side and the DHCP server *was* sending back a lease but it was never getting to the WN2000RPT connected client/(s). I was also unable to ping from the other LAN segment back to these clients.

I rebooted the box and 15 seconds later it was happy to get a DHCP request and all was happy and pinged and connected fine. So i thought it maybe the box - I got it replaced from the store i bought it - Set it up and again had the same problem.

The time between failures varies. Here is some info about my hardware
Hardware Version WN2000RPT
Firmware Version V1.0.0.2
GUI Language Version V1.0.0.6
I have been able to setup the client with a static ip address and it seems to connect fine, although that is the case i still cannot ping it from the other side of the network. This leads me to believe that there is a problem with the software/hardware in the WN2000RPT.

Is anyone able to give me any ideas on this?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 16th, 2010, 08:59 PM
jasonleschnik jasonleschnik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
jasonleschnik is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problems with WN2000RPT Range Extender

From what i can see - It seems that the WN2000RPT seems to be dropping or not accepting traffic back to the devices. I cannot really put my finger on it - But i have been trying to understanding what is & is not getting through Via Wireshark.

An example would be with the new WN2000RPT i got today. After setting it up i went from my AP lets call it MYAccessPoint to MYAccessPoint_EXT... I noticed that i could get a DHCP address no problems from MYAccessPoint but from _EXT it would just flap and never get one.

Once i had restarted the unit this was no problem at all the *._EXT got an address via a DHCP request no problems.



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Here is a Nagios log showing how the system is very iffy...

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 8th, 2010, 01:48 PM
jerryv jerryv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
jerryv is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problems with WN2000RPT Range Extender

yeah, I have the same problems. Every now and then (and it seems like about 24 hours of uptime) it starts dropping connections. I get some connects still work across the router but drop randomly.

64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=17 ttl=64 time=2.795 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=18 ttl=64 time=4.248 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=19 ttl=64 time=3.400 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=20 ttl=64 time=3.553 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=21 ttl=64 time=6.592 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=22 ttl=64 time=9.186 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=23 ttl=64 time=3.126 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=24 ttl=64 time=2.936 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=25 ttl=64 time=4.230 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=26 ttl=64 time=2.732 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=27 ttl=64 time=2.742 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=28 ttl=64 time=3.179 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=29 ttl=64 time=2.860 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=30 ttl=64 time=9.084 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=31 ttl=64 time=5.792 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=32 ttl=64 time=275.768 ms
ping: sendto: No route to host
Request timeout for icmp_seq 33
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=34 ttl=64 time=223.035 ms
ping: sendto: No route to host
Request timeout for icmp_seq 35
Request timeout for icmp_seq 36
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=37 ttl=64 time=192.112 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=38 ttl=64 time=3.670 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=39 ttl=64 time=2.684 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=40 ttl=64 time=3.692 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.7: icmp_seq=41 ttl=64 time=12408.304 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 42
Request timeout for icmp_seq 43
Request timeout for icmp_seq 44
Request timeout for icmp_seq 45
Request timeout for icmp_seq 46
Request timeout for icmp_seq 47
Request timeout for icmp_seq 48
Request timeout for icmp_seq 49
Request timeout for icmp_seq 50
Request timeout for icmp_seq 51


some connections dont work at all (but come back after 10-20 minutes)

I get a lot of DCHP ack and OFFER retries in my DSL modem logs.

Do you have apple stuff on your network. Maybe the IPv6 stuff that apple uses is confusing the forward table on the device ????

Would be very interested in comparing notes.

btw what is your DCHP lease time?


my config is

DSL router (and DHCP server) physically connected to an airport express (in bridge mode) and then the repeater is downstairs with about 4 wireless devices 'connected' to it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 28th, 2010, 01:21 PM
Ondart Ondart is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Ondart is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problems with WN2000RPT Range Extender

Does anyone have a fix for this? I have the same problem. Reaching Netgear tech support is a nightmare. They keep disconnecting me, five times now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 17th, 2011, 06:55 PM
richteel richteel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
richteel is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problems with WN2000RPT Range Extender

I just purchased a WN2000RPT less than a month ago and am having the same issues. I may return it as it seems Netgear has not bothered to fix this in the past 6 months. BTW: Last week there was a firmware update so I was hoping that this issue was resolved but obviously it was not.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 17th, 2011, 08:27 PM
richteel richteel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
richteel is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problems with WN2000RPT Range Extender

BTW: I just looked at the FAQ at kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14239/~/wn2000rpt-faqs and see that there is a hidden DHCP server in the WN2000RPT. I configured it so I will now see if this helps or makes things worse.

Why on earth did Netgear hide this option anyway?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 7th, 2011, 07:57 PM
vthomas vthomas is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
vthomas is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problems with WN2000RPT Range Extender

Any progress on this issue? It seems like it might be related to the problem I am experiencing whereby packets are getting dropped on their way from my wired LAN (NAS, FTP, file shares, etc.) to WN2000RPT-connected endpoints--similar to the DHCP leases going out but not getting to the endpoints.

I can see in Wireshark how the bandwidth is consumed with garbage--duplicate acks, retransmitted packets, etc.

In my case, it only happens when a server on the LAN tries to send packets to an RPT-connected device. An FTP server out on the Web (through the WAN port) has no such trouble--the packets get through just fine.

I'm thinking of biting the bullet: returning this seemingly junktastic "Range Extender" and pulling some cable to a regular access point.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 9th, 2011, 01:38 PM
asics2050 asics2050 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
asics2050 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problems with WN2000RPT Range Extender

I have a new Ubee router from Charter communications. I can easily connect my computer to the range expander but when the wizard tries to connect the range expander to the router it says to move the expander closer to the router - even when it is right next to it. The link rate light on my expander has never lit. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 8th, 2012, 08:22 AM
PM_Anwarson PM_Anwarson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
PM_Anwarson is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problems with WN2000RPT Range Extender

Hi yall

Here's my solution to this problem:

1.go to www.mywifiext.com & log in

2.go to setup > Ip adress setup

3.set to Use static ip adress:
to set your ip adress, just change the number after the last dot (this number should be OUTSIDE the range of your modem/router's dhcp server). The ip adress of your modem or router shoudl already be in the gateway box and the primary DNS is already set, so don't touch that, okay boo?

4.apply.

5. As you go to maintenance > status, you should now see that your DHCP client is OFF.

6. Now log out.

7. log in on http://www.mywifiext.net/cgi-bin/hidden_dhcpd.html with the same password & name as the first site.

8. Click Enable internal DHCP server: if all is right, it has already set a range for you. This range should NOT be the same as your main modem/router's DHCP range.

9. Click Apply and close window.

10. Now break the connection with your extender...... wait a moment...... make connection with that thang and all should be good FOREVER!!

If this helped you out, your welcome.

If it didn't, well it helped me

Latahz
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 30th, 2012, 12:36 PM
Thermy Thermy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Thermy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problems with WN2000RPT Range Extender

Brilliant! So simple... but must be a recurring problem for Netgear... My Netbook kept its connection all of the time, but other devices (two Android phones and an iPad) could obtain an IP address...

Changing to static IP address as outlined has solved the problem...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:15 PM.