#1  
Old November 15th, 2010, 06:40 PM
Storms Storms is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Storms is on a distinguished road
Default N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

Just as a foreward: yes, I've read the manual and the FAQ's!

Have installed/re-installed the above wireless router several times and still cannot log in to the router using the "admin" and "password" entries. Plus, I've hit the "reset" button on the back of the unit several times. I've even tried the older password "1234" - no dice.

Can anyone offer an explanation (or better yet, a solution)?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 15th, 2010, 06:47 PM
NetGearUser84 NetGearUser84 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 279
NetGearUser84 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

Hold the reset button for 30 seconds then try, connected directly with an ethernet cable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 15th, 2010, 06:58 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

see router setup on my sig below, make sure setup is correct ,

disable firewall on PC with any third party

all new router uses user: admin, Pass: password.... 1234 is OLD unit only
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 18th, 2010, 06:34 PM
Storms Storms is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Storms is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

Appreciate the suggestions - but no luck, still can't log in. I've turned off both Windows firewall and MSE. I'm a Comcast cable user. Wireless router appears to be working in all other respects. Using http://192.168.1.1 brings up the sign-in box. I've double-checked spelling, case sensitive letters, etc.. The WNDR3400 has me completely stumped. I've also tried using the provided router reconfiguration program - it indicates nothing is wrong with my router's setup (I'm guessing from the firmware perspective).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 18th, 2010, 06:41 PM
NetGearUser84 NetGearUser84 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 279
NetGearUser84 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

And you reset it with the pin hole on the back, for 30 seconds ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 18th, 2010, 06:42 PM
NetGearUser84 NetGearUser84 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 279
NetGearUser84 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

I have the WNDR3400, I can assure you the login info is "admin" and "password" by default.

What browser are you using ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 18th, 2010, 07:08 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

Quote:
Originally Posted by Storms View Post
Appreciate the suggestions - but no luck, still can't log in. I've turned off both Windows firewall and MSE. I'm a Comcast cable user. Wireless router appears to be working in all other respects. Using http://192.168.1.1 brings up the sign-in box. I've double-checked spelling, case sensitive letters, etc.. The WNDR3400 has me completely stumped. I've also tried using the provided router reconfiguration program - it indicates nothing is wrong with my router's setup (I'm guessing from the firmware perspective).
is this comcast provided unit ?

if so try

user cusadmin
pass highspeed
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 18th, 2010, 07:41 PM
NetGearUser84 NetGearUser84 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 279
NetGearUser84 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

Comcast does not provide the WNDR3400.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 18th, 2010, 07:48 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

I didn't think either

wnr1000 is one they provide at least
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 7th, 2011, 12:56 PM
barbrady123 barbrady123 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
barbrady123 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N600 Wireless Dual Band - Admin password

Not to necro this thread or anything, but in case anybody just bought a N600 (like I did) and had the same problem as the OP (as I did)...for whatever reason this router will NOT work with Chrome. I'm sure the OP has this issue resolved by now, but for anybody else who comes across this thread...try it in IE or Firefox, and it'll work fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:53 AM.